Vodenlich, Tincher top WIAC honorees

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Friday, May 21, 2010

Just like their team, John Vodenlich and Riley Tincher of UW-Whitewater baseball have finished the regular season on top of the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Vodenlich has been named the conference Coach of the Year for the third straight season, the first in the WIAC ever to accomplish that feat, and Tincher is the Pitcher of the Year.

Their leadership sparked Whitewater to 21-3 conference record and the regular-season championship. The Warhawks (40-5) also won the conference tournament and have advanced to the third round of the NCAA Division III regional they are hosting.

Whitewater also has three other players at four positions on the All-WIAC first team. Jeff Donovan, a Warhawk senior, is a two-way selection as a right-handed pitcher and first baseman. He is joined by teammates Rob Coe, a junior catcher; Jason Hooper, a senior handed-pitcher; and Jordan Stine, a senior center fielder, who is on the first team for the fourth time after sitting out last season with an injury.

The Warhawks' selections for honorable mention are senior shortstop Mike Kenseth, senior second baseman Ben Kuhlmann, sophomore left-handed pitcher Aaron Leitner and junior outfielder Daniel Putnam.

Whitewater's Nick Rechlitz, a senior infielder, is on the All-Sportsmanship team. Brad Archambeau, UW-Stevens Point's junior outfielder, has been named the Max Sparger Scholar/Athlete for basball.

Eric Fritz, Stevens Point's junior shortstop, is the conference Position Player of the Year. He is a first-team all-league selection for the second straight year and paced the Pointers to a second-place finish and NCAA berth with a league-leading .414 batting average.

In becoming the WIAC's top coach for the fourth time since taking over the Warhawks in 2004, Vodenlich directed his school to a third straight conference title and the sixth in seven years. With a victory Thursday, he also has extended his career record to 251-80-1.

Tincher, the sixth Whitewater pitcher to receive the WIAC's top award, led the conference with an 11-1 record and 82 2/3 innings pitched. The left-hander from Oregon had two complete games, struck out 67 and had a 4.41 earned-run average, while allowing opponents to hit only .271.

Donovan is a first-team selection for the third time, previously being honored in 2007 and 2008. He led the conference this season with 12 home runs, 60 RBIs and a .671 slugging percentage, while also posting a 4-0 pitching record, 3.48 ERA and allowing opponents a 234 batting average that was the second-lowest in the league.

Stine led the conference with 60 runs scored and was second in stolen bases with 17. He had 64 hits, including 12 doubles, and drove in 47 runs.

Coe, a first-team repeater, led the WIAC with a .494 on-base percentage and was second with a .394 batting average.

Hooper, a Lake Mills High School graduate, became an all-conference repeater by compiling a 6-2 pitching record and 4.31 ERA. He threw Whitewater's first no-hitter since 1993 in an eight-strikeout performance against UW-Stout.

All-WIAC Baseball


1B—Jeff Donovan, Whitewater, sr.; Jeremy Richter, Stevens Point, sr.

2B—Brett Benesh, Platteville, jr.; Matt Trocke, La Crosse, jr.

SS—Eric Fritz, Stevens Point, jr.

3B—Blake Berger, Oshkosh, jr.; Justin Jirschele, Stevens Point, soph.

3B/OF—Jay Fanta, La Crosse, soph.

OF—Nolan Fadness, Oshkosh, jr.; Paul Schlangen, Superior, sr.; Jordan Stine, Whitewater, sr.

C—Rob Coe, Whitewater, jr.

P (LH)—Riley Tincher, Whitewater, jr.; Joe Delorit, Stevens Point, jr.; T.J. Wink, Superior, sr.

P (RH)—Jeff Donovan, Whitewater, sr.; Jason Hooper, Whitewater, sr.; Wil Osmanski, Platteville, sr.; Mitch Running, La Crosse, fr.; Scott Williams, Stevens Point, jr.

Position Player of the Year—Eric Fritz, Stevens Point.

Pitcher of the Year—Riley Tincher, Whitewater.

Coach of the Year—John Vodenlich, Whitewater.

Max Sparger Scholar/Athlete—Brad Archambeau, Stevens Point.


2B—Ben Kuhlmann, Whitewater, sr.

SS—Jake Duske, Stout, soph.; Mike Kenseth, Whitewater, sr.

3B—Aaron Hopson, Platteville, jr.

IF—Sean Cummings, Superior, sr.

OF—Brad Archambeau, Stevens Point, sr.; Daniel Putnam, Whitewater, jr.; Sam Spurney, Stevens Point, sr.

Utility—Kyle Kannenberg, Oshkosh, sr.

C—Mickey Fadness, Oshkosh, sr.; Zach Harazin, La Crosse, soph.; Brett Olson, Eau Claire, sr.

P (RH)—Nate Hanson, Stout, sr.; Kyle Kannenberg, Oshkosh, sr.; Tyler Lorenz, Stevens Point, sr.; Troy Mrkvicka, Oshkosh, soph.; Mike Swanson, Superior, soph.

P (LH)—Aaron Leitner, Whitewater, soph.; Luke Westphal, Oshkosh, soph.


Whitewater, 21-3; Stevens Point, 16-8; Platteville, 11-13; Oshkosh, 11-13; Superior, 10-14; La Crosse, 9-15; Stout, 6-18.

Last updated: 1:47 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print