Defending champ likely to miss Fischer

Print Print
Thursday, June 24, 2010
— Andrew Steinhofer hopes to be able to defend his Ray Fischer State Medal Play Championship title this weeked at Riverside Golf Course.

After Wednesday, however, the chances are remote. Steinhofer would need to do something today that is very uncharacteristic of the 19-year old—shoot a really bad round.

The 72-hole Fischer Tournament begins Friday, with Steinhofer scheduled to tee off at 1:50 p.m.

Steinhofer, however, is entered in the Western Junior Championship that began Tuesday at Blue Mound Country Club in Wauwatosa. He fired a 1-under par 70 in his opening round and is four shots out of the lead. Wednesday’s second round was washed out and rescheduled for today.

Even if Steinhofer implodes today, he’s still likely to make the cut. The top 70 golfers, plus ties, make the 36-hole finale Friday. The Western Junior Championship is the second-most prestigious junior amateur event in the U.S. and is being held in Wisconsin for the first time since 1993. A total of 156 junior golfers from throughout the United States are entered.

“The original plan for Friday was to finish up my round at the Western Junior, get in my car, and get to Janesville in time to tee off,” Steinhofer said. “But now, if I make the cut, we’ll be playing 36 on Friday.

“I want to do well at the Western Junior because it’s a big event, but I definitely want to play in the Fischer, too. I love that course (Riverside), and it’s a great tournament.”

Steinhofer won last year’s Fischer with a 12-under total of 276—one shot better than Janesville’s Matt Behm, Colgate’s Tom Halla, Antigo’s Kelly Kretz and Appleton’s Patrick Duffy.

Behm, the 2006 Fischer champion and tournament record-holder, is one of nine Janesville players entered.

Steinhofer wrapped up his freshman season at Madison Area Technical College by finishing second last week at the NJCAA Division III Championship at Chautauqua Golf Course in Chautauqua, N.Y. He finished 1-under for the tournament, one-shot behind champion Chris Ferraro of SUNY University.

“My game’s feels pretty good right now,” Steinhofer said. “I don’t have any complaints about it.

“That’s why I want to be able to play in the Fischer. Riverside’s a great course that everybody looks forward to playing. You have to shoot low scores pretty much all four rounds, and that’s something we don’t get to do at most of the other courses we play.”

A number of former champions are entered in the Fischer field, including Kretz, the 2008 champion, and four-time champion Mark Bemowski.

The first two rounds are 18 holes, followed by 36 holes on Sunday for those players making the cut.

Men’s state amateur golf
Ray Fischer State Medal Play Championship

At Riverside GC

Tee Times

Friday, June 25

No. 1

7:00 a.m.—Shawn Foley, Pewaukee; Anthony Archer, Wausau; Andrew Troyanek, Burlington; Eric Knapp, Oregon.

7:10.—Kevin Riley, Janesville; Robby Bamberger, Bayside; Sam Frank, Oconomowoc; Jeff Huebner, Madison.

7:20—Jim Roddefson, Franklin; Peter Howery, McFarland; Craig Hoesly, Monroe; Ryne Clatworthy, Janesville.

7:30—Michael Bastian, Oconomowoc; Paul Koszarek, Waterford; Jared Delveaux, Grafton; Mike Tiefenthaler, Eagle.

7:40—Michael Hesselman, Janesville; Kevin Cahill, Waukesha; Austin Gaugert, Lake Geneva; Logan Kranz, Madison.

7:50—Zach Gaugert, Waunakee; Kenny Rucker, Eau Claire; Kelly Kretz, Antigo; Patrick Cahill, Waukesha.

8:00—Brian Krupo, Gemantown; Sean Sanguansap, Milwaukee; Aaron Gavin, S. Milwaukee; Matt Behm, Janesville.

8:10—Brian Pella, Burlington; Matt Gorman, Waunakee; Mike Saunders, Oregon; Danny Behm, Jackson.

8:20—Justin Sawicky, Appleton; Eric Hertel, Franklin; Jacob LaConte, Waukesha; Archie Dadian, S. Milwaukee.

8:30—Eli Belich, West Allis; Stuart Grendahl, McFarland; Lou Luedtke, S. Milwaukk; Kyle Henning, Brookfield.

8:40—Mark Bemowski, Mukwonago; Michael Gresen, Brookfield; Sam Van Galder, Janesville; John Langhoff, Pewaukee.

8:50—Troy Bilderback, Waunakee; Andy Grinwald, Lake Mills; Tyler Leis, Eau Claire; Terry Schilz, Cambridge.

Noon—Dan Beard, Cambridge; Phil Plautz, Sr., Greenfield; MichaelMasik, Jr., Racine; Reid Hansen, McFarland.

12:10 p.m.—Braden Mork, Green Bay; Garrett Thompson, North Prairie; Alex Beaundry, Franklin; Tom Bockmeier, Green Bay.

12:20—Mark Allan Disrud, Fitchburg; Jim Covelli, Racine; Brett Tautges, Hartford; Steve Noble, Greendale.

12:30—Jon Oaks, Waukesha; Martin Cherney Jr., Waukesha; John Haines, Mequon; Todd Schaap, Kenosha.

12:40—Tim Barber, Milwaukee; Robert Gregosrski, Menasha; Paul Swart, Madison; Tim O’Brien, Mequon.

12:50—Tony Romo, Burlington; Eric Madlung, Wauwatosa; Andrew Cobb, Marshall, Jeff Fromstein, Menomonee Falls.

1:00—Ramiro Romo, Burlington; Tyler Cobb, Marshall; Daniel Ozga, Edgerton; Max Hosking, Madison.

1:10—Kevin Hough, New Berlin; Ryan Coffey, Janesville; Eric Olson, Madison; Dave Ullenberg, Menomonee Falls.

1:20—Thomas Komassa, S. Milwaukee; Michael O’Neil, Wauwatosa; Tom Chambers, Union Grove; Jim Scharnberg, Greendale.

1:30—Bob Kohl, Waukesha; Bill Crinzi, New Berlin; Kevin Van Rossum, Hartland; Duaine Olson, Luck.

1:40—Paul Jacobsen, Racine; Mack Wallace, Madison; Andrew Beischel, Whitefish Bay; Robert Kuster, Milwaukee.

1:50—Andrew Steinhofer, Madison; Alex Gaugert, Lake Geneva; Troy Jastal, Stevens Point; Tim McCormick, Madison.

No. 10

7:00 a.m.—Noah Hersch, Bayside; Michael Kletzien, Janesville; Benjamin Schlossmann, Fox Point.

7:10—Geoff LaFleur, New Berlin; Tom Halla, Colgate; John Boles, Madison; Ryan Schullo, Madison.

7:20—Mark Olsen, Pleasant Prairie; Matthew Haase, Wausau; Eric Botts, Beloit; Jack Schultz, Whitefish Bay.

7:30—Ben Smaby, Onalaska; Alex Eichelberger, Brookfield; Andy Hagen, Beloit; Kyle Malinger, West Allis.

7:40—Steve Grusczynski, West Allis; Michael Small, Madison; Jonathan Fall, Milwaukee; Ben Metz, Kenosha.

7:50—Jay Smith, East Troy; Ben Brooks, Beaver Dam; James Gunter, Waukesha; Erik Mayer, Appleton;

8:00—RJ Budd, Prairie du Sac; Billy Strey, Twin Lakes; Sean Halverson, Janesville; Cory Sokol, Mineral Point.

8:10—Andy Hansen, Mequon; Keith Buntrock, Franklin; Todd Westrich, DePere; Adam McCarthy, Waukesha.

8:20—Mark Busalacchi, New Berlin; Miles McConnell, Middleton; Brandon Wilson, Monroe; Mike Hilton, Muskego.

8:30—Greg Thatcher, Cudahy; Jake Weber, Bryant; Scott Perme, Madison; Eric Busalacchi, Waukesha.

8:40—Bruce Henning, Brookfield; Cody Strang, Madison; Michael Cabush, Waukesha; Michael McDonald, Germantown.

Noon—Pat Dhein, Milwaukee; Sam Weber, Hartland; Steven Johnson, Mequon; Steve Peterson, Oconto.

12:10 p.m.—Adam Dickinson, Edgerton; Nick Weber, Hartland; Tim Johnson, Oconomowoc; Sean Regan, Madison.

12:20—Matt Pisching, Madison; Taylor Johnson, Oconomowoc; Thomas Welk, Madison; Bruce Hansen, Racine.

12:30—Jake Mayer, Appleton; John Staehler, Caledonia; Sam Jorgenson, Madison; Jake Downing, Janesville.

12:40—Robert Retzlaff, Brookfield; Keegan Drugan, Holmen; Jim Steck, West Allis; Jeff Kaether, McFarland.

12:50—Adam Eggebrecht, Abbotsford; Brett kaether, McFarland; Ryan Prickette, Neenah; Bill Winkler, Racine.

1:00—Austin Ehlenfeldt, Beaver Dam; Mark Wittchow, Onalaska; Brady Keegan, Eau Claire; Tyler Preckette, Neenah.

1:10—Mitch Bowers, Mineral Point; Dana Radavich, Middleton; Brent Wong, Franklin; John Kestly, Pewaukee.

1:20—Pat Boyle, S. Milwaukee; Todd Wuetrich, Madison; Andy Kirchner, Oregon; John Rademacher, Mequon.

1:30—Paul Zarek, Burlington; Jonathan Klemp, Thiensville; Geoff Pirkl, Waukesha; Ryan Fleming, Menomonee Falls.

1:40 p.m.—Michael Flynn, Middleton; Ben Lind, Stevens Point; Randall Zeck, Cross Plains; Dave Preboske, Monroe.

Last updated: 2:00 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print