Four seek shot at Sheridan

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, July 14, 2010

While four candidates have lined up to unseat Assembly Speaker Mike Sheridan in this fallís general election, only one ultimately will get the opportunity.

Thatís because all four are Republicans who will square off in a 44th Assembly District partisan primary Tuesday, Sept. 14. The district includes most of Janesville.

Tuesday was the deadline for candidates to file nominations papers. For Assembly seats, candidates needed to file between 200 and 400 signatures.

Sheridan, a Democrat, was first elected to represent the district in 2004 when he easily defeated Republican Ty Bollerud and Independents Steve Trueblood and Charles Knipp. Sheridan defeated Republican Fred Yoss in 2006 and was unopposed in 2008.

In 2009, fellow Democrats vaulted Sheridan to the powerful position of Assembly Speaker.

The Janesville native holds an associate degree from UW-Rock County and had a 31-year career at General Motors, including two terms as president of United Auto Workers Local 95.

This time around, the 44th Assembly race includes the four Republicans. They are:

-- Kenneth Brotheridge, 2718 Park Place Lane, Janesville, who is running as a Republican. A Janesville native, he has a political science and business administration degree from UW-Platteville and works for Rasmussen College in Rockford.

-- Joe Knilans, 1600 Alpine Drive, Janesville, who is running as a Republican. He holds a bachelorís degree in political science from UW-Whitewater, is a former assembler and supervisor at GM and now works for J.G. Innovations of Janesville.

-- Charles Knipp, 4849 Violet Lane, Madison, who is running as a Republican. He is a former Janesville city assessor and has graduate degrees in business administration and management and associate degrees in finance, accounting and data processing.

-- William Truman, 444 Applewood Lane, Janesville, who is running as a Republican. Truman has served three years on the Janesville City Council. He was laid off from LSI, a GM supplier, in December 2008.

Timothy Blake of Janesville announced his candidacy in May as a Libertarian. Reached Tuesday, he said he is no longer a candidate.

The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 2.

31st Assembly District

Incumbent Rep. Steve Nass, R-La Grange, is seeking re-election. He has served in the state Assembly since 1990.

Nass, 57, faces a challenge from Leroy Watson of Oconomowoc and Craig Peterson of Sullivan.

Watson, a Libertarian, unsuccessfully ran against Nass in 2002. He also unsuccessfully ran for the 38th Assembly District seat in 2000 and for alderman in Oconomowoc eight times.

Peterson, 32, a Republican, is a supervisor on the Jefferson County Board and has served two terms on the Sullivan Village Board. He is a masonry contractor.

32nd Assembly District

Incumbent Rep. Tom Lothian, R-Williams Bay, is not seeking re-election. He has served in the state Assembly since 2002.

Nine people have filed to run for the vacant seat.

These candidates are running as Republicans:

-- Tyler August, 27, of Walworth, who has served as chief of staff under Lothian for several years and is chairman of the 1st Congressional District Republican Party.

-- John Finley, 58, of Delavan, who has served as alderman in Delavan since 2006 and is a self-employed security consultant.

-- Adam Gibbs, 24, of Lyons Township, who as a student worked as a legislative intern for state Rep. Steve Nass and is a consultant at Endurance House in Middleton, a business that caters to endurance athletes.

-- Dan Necci, 30, of Delavan, who recently opened his own law practice in Lake Geneva.

-- Mel Nieuwenhuis, 48, of Delavan, who has served as the mayor of Delavan since 2002 and is a garbage hauler for Nieuwenhuis Brothers in Delavan.

-- Thomas Stelling, 59, of Geneva Township, who is the primary stakeholder in an architectural firm in Burlington.

There will be a primary election Sept. 14 to slash the number of Republican candidates from five to one.

Doug Harrod, 64, of Genoa City, a health teacher at Badger High School in Lake Geneva, is running as a Democrat. He unsuccessfully ran for the seat in 2008.

Dan Kilkenny, 53, of Darien Township, an attorney, is running as an independent. He has served on the Darien Town Board since 2001 and on the Walworth County Board since 2006.

Rick Pappas, of Fontana, also is running as an independent. He could not be reached for more information.

43rd Assembly

Two Whitewater residents will face off in the 43rd District.

Incumbent Kim Hixson, D-Whitewater, has served the last two terms as a representative in the 43rd District. Hixson is an associate professor of advertising at UW-Whitewater and has served on state committees on consumer protection, education, financial institutions and workforce development.

In the race, Hixson will face Republican challenger Evan Wynn of Whitewater. Wynn, a former Whitewater educator and retired U.S. Army Master Sergeant, announced his candidacy in March.

The race marks Wynnís first bid for public office.

45th Assembly

Two Democrats and three Republicans are fighting for the chance to replace Democrat Chuck Benedict of Beloit in the 45th Assembly district.

Benedict is not seeking a fourth term.

The candidates are:

-- Democrat Roger B. Anclam, 54, of Turtle Township. Anclam is a retired Janesville General Motors worker and chairman of the Turtle Town Board.

-- Republican Jeffrey Klett, 1980 Boulder Lane, Beloit. Klett is vice president of Tricor Insurance. He serves on the board of directors for the Greater Beloit Chamber of Commerce, the Beloit Snappers and Spotlight on Wisconsin.

-- Republican Jim Reseburg of Beloit is a former fire chief for the Beloit Fire Department and a former member of the Beloit School Board. Reseburg works as a consultant and disaster-planning trainer for municipalities and universities. He owns Emergency Planning Solutions consulting firm.

-- Beloit Democrat Rick Valdez is the former director of operations for the Beloit Snappers and is a member of the Riverfest Board of Directors, according to a news release from his campaign.

-- Amy Loudenbeck, 40, is self-employed as a landlord, business coach and regulatory compliance consultant. Before that she worked as vice president of the Greater Beloit Chamber of Commerce. Loudenbeck lives on a hobby farm in Clinton Township.

The district includes much of the city of Beloit as well as the towns of Harmony, La Prairie, Johnstown, Bradford, Turtle and Clinton and the Walworth County town of Richmond.

80th Assembly

City council members from Evansville and Monroe will vie for the open seat in the 80th District, vacated by Brett Davis, R-Oregon, who is running for lieutenant governor.

Janis Ringhand, a Democrat from Evansville, will make her third run for the seat. She is an Evansville alderwoman and former mayor.

Dan Henke, a Monroe City Council member, will run as a Republican. He has served as president of the council and co-owns D-H Builders in Monroe.

83rd Assembly

Incumbent Rep. Scott Gunderson, R-Waterford, is seeking re-election. He has served in the state Assembly since 1994.

Gunderson, 53, faces a challenge from Aaron Robertson of Muskego.

Robertson, 27, a Democrat, is co-founder and president of Intrepid Innovations, a company specializing in Web design, graphic design, Internet marketing and consulting. He also is a freelance writer.

Last updated: 2:22 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print