Edgerton’s Ozga named to first team

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, July 1, 2010

Dan Ozga, fondly known as the “course rat,” has added the finishing touch to his illustrious Edgerton High golf career.

Ozga’s years of concentration on the course led to three straight appearances in the WIAA state tournament and now has earned the Crimson Tide’s graduated senior a first-team spot in the Wisconsin Golf Coaches Association all-state selections.

The eight-man first team features Platteville senior Josh Udelhofen, who has been named state Player of the Year. Others among the “elite eight” are Milwaukee Marquette senior David Christian, Osceola sophomore Charlie Danielson, Racine Case senior John Gullberg, Racine Horlick senior Robert Jacobsen, Middleton sophomore Mitch Johnson and Hartland Arrowhead senior Steve Sorenson.

Lake Geneva Badger senior Alex Gaugert has received honorable mention among the 59 players nominated by the coaches for all-state recognition.

Udelhofen led the way with a 35.9 season average for nine holes, highlighted by an amazing 60 for 18 holes in WIAA regional competition, and was the Division 2 state runner-up. Danielson won the Division 2 title and was the overall state tournament medalist with a 69-70—139.

Ozga earned his all-state honor by posting a 37.1 scoring average this season. He repeated as the Rock Valley Conference medalist and finished first in nine events, including a 69 in WIAA regional play and 72 at the sectional level.

After being the Division 2 state runner-up and a third-team all-state selection as a junior, Ozga finished fourth in last month’s state tournament with a 78-74—152 in rainy conditions at University Ridge in Madison.

While ranking in the top 25 percent of his class, the son of John and Kathy Ozga also earned academic all-state honors for three years and plans to continue his education and golf career at UW-Green Bay.

It’s all a tribute to Ozga’s hard work, Edgerton coach Drew Wellman said.

“He’s a super kid and golf nut,’’ Wellman said as Ozga approached the stretch drive of his senior year. “A ‘course rat’ is what I call him.

“Every day, he’s at the course, either playing or practicing. Golf is sport where you have to put the time in to reach a certain level, and Danny’s done that.”

WGCA All-State


John Udelhofen, Platteville, sr.; David Christian, Milwaukee Marquette, sr.; Charlie Danielson, Osceola, soph.; John Gullberg, Racine Case, sr.; Robert Jacobsen, Racine Horlick, sr.; Mitch Johnson, Middleton, soph.; Dan Ozga, Edgerton, sr.; Steve Sorenson, Hartland Arrowhead, sr.


Shaw Foley, Waukesha North, sr.; Jordan Niebrugge, Mequon Homestead, soph.; Quinn Moe, Madison Memorial, sr.; Matt Ross, Hartland Arrowhead, soph.; Ben Skogen, Onalaska, fr.; Sam Weber, Hartland Arrowhead, sr.; John Wyenberg, Appleton Xavier, jr.; David Walter, Eau Clasire Menmorial, sr.


Tyler Ehlers, New Berrlin West, sr.; Zach Gaugert, Waunakee, soph.; Jack McKinney, Milwaukee Marquette, jr.; Sean Murphy, Middleton, jr.; Tyler Prickette, Appleton Xavier, sr.; Austin Resop, Berlin, sr.; Mike Schilling, Middleton, sr.; Mitch Sobotta, Arcadia, sr.

Player of the Year—John Udelhofen, Platteville.


Evan Anderson, Brookfield Central, jr.; Nick Bertram, Onalaska, soph.; Chad Bonis, Waukesha Memorial, sr.; Tom Boockmeier, Green Bay Preble, jr.; Mike Cabush, Kettle Moraine, sr.; Brennan Fentzlaff, Milwaukee Marquette, sr.; Derek Fiestadt, Kaukauna, jr.; William Fox, Milwaukee Marquette, jr.

Alex Gaugert, Lake Geneva Badger, sr.; Tommy Hearden, Green Bay Notre Dame, sr.; Kyle Henning, Brookfield East, sr.; Scott Hird, Madison Edgewood, sr.; Austin Hollman, McFarland, sr.; Nic Johnson, Kettle Moraine, jr.; Gene Kiela III, Plymouth, jr.; Rob Kraft, Superior, jr.; Steffen Lake, Madison Edgewood, soph.; Maxwell Vander Wyst, Kaukauna, sr.; Landon Vinger, Kickapoo, jr.; Nate Webb, Eau Claire Memorial, soph.; Thomas Wettstein, Appleton Xavier, sr.; Wil Wittman, Kaukauna, soph.

Last updated: 2:35 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print