Cassady, Collins on softball first team

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, July 1, 2010

If you go by the Wisconsin Softball Coaches Association all-state team, the future is bright for UW-Green Bay’s program.

Janesville Craig’s Gabrielle Cassady and Brodhead’s Tia Collins, both UW-Green Bay recruits, have been named to the all-state first team as catchers.

Cassady, a 2010 graduate, will play for the Phoenix next season.

Collins, a senior-to-be, has what could be one more championship season at Brodhead. Erika Stampfli, Collins’ teammate at Brodhead, has been named to the third team as a pitcher and also will be back next season.

Cassady led the Big Eight Conference co-champion Cougars in batting average (.403), doubles (6), RBIs (29), slugging percentage (.583) and on-base percentage (.489). She had one of the team’s two homers, and had two triples.

Defensively, Cassady had 21 assists and threw out three runners attempting to steal.

Cassady finished her career as Craig’s all-time leader in hits (105), triples (13), doubles (16) and RBIs (75). She ranks second all-time in runs scored (74) and fourth with 41 walks.

“It’s a very well-deserved award,” Craig coach Dan Bayreuther said of Cassady’s selection. “The biggest thing about Gabrielle this season was her consistency. She hit the ball hard from her first swing of the season until the end.

“Those are big shoes we’re going to have to replace, and that’s going to be tough. She was a quality four-year starter for us.”

Bayreuther’s only other first-team selection at Craig was shortstop Carrie Schieve in 2002.

Collins hit over .500 and helped lead the Cardinals to the Rock Valley South Conference title.

“Tia’s a special player,” Brodhead coach Steve Krupke said. “She’s not even a catcher, and will probably play center field in college because of her speed and arm strength.

“Offensively, she’s a triple threat. She can bunt, slap the ball or hit for power. And with the tough schedule we played, the most amazing statistic about Tia this season was that she struck out only twice.”

Stampfli, despite a nagging back injury, had another dominating season as the Rock Valley South’s Player of the Year. The highlight of the season was a 21-strikeout performance against Clinton in a conference game.

The all-state selections also include Fort Atkinson junior outfielder Maddy Podmolik on the second team, Edgerton junior infielder Anne Tronnes and East Troy junior outfielder Kate Ledwell on honorable mention. Tronnes was the Rock Valley North’s Player of the Year for Edgerton’s championship team.

Coaches’ all-state softball


IF—Marissa Michalkiewicz, Appleton East, soph.; Michelle Zoeller, Mequon Homestead, sr.; Britt Schlaeger, Mequon Homestead, sr.; McKinzie Freinmuth, Kaukauna, jr.; Amana Jaskolski, Shawano, sr.; Kassie Krueger, Stevens Point, sr.; Kristen Brose, Verona, sr.

OF—Kelly Horak, Appleton East, sr.; Maria Van Able, Kaukauna, jr.; Andie Varsho, Marshfield, sr.; Ashleigh Sagat, New Berlin Eisenhower, sr.; Brooke Piotrowski, Stevens Point, sr.

P—Kendra Bowe, Chippewa Falls, jr.; Michelle Lund, Grantsburg, sr.; Lauren Dannerr, Kaukauna, jr.; Kelly Franks, Stevens Point, jr.; Ashley Holz, Oakfield, soph.; Kirsten Woods, Wilmot, soph.

C—Tia Collins, Brodhead, jr.; Gabrielle Cassady, Janesville Craig, sr.; Megan Duerlinger, New Berlin Eisenhower, sr.; Danielle Lagerstrom, New Richmond, sr.; Nicole Lasecki, Pulaski, sr.

Utility—Gennelle McFarland, Watertown, soph.


IF—EmmaLee Eckardt, Altoona, sr.; Jenna Smith, La Crosse Aquinas, sr.; Maria Vannieuwenhoven, Ashwaubenon, sr.; Hailey Mohrfeld, Menomonee Falls, jr.; Emily Krueger, Portage, jr.; Emily McClelland, Union Grove, jr.; Lauren Harris, Watertown, sr.

OF—Kayla Gosdeck, Deerfield, jr.; Maddy Podmolik, Fort Atkinson, jr.; Emily Kjos, Lancaster, jr.; Megan Cherney, Stevens Point, sr.; Hailey Williams, Waunakee, sr.

P—Becca Hart, Hortonville, sr.; Ali Brems, Kenosha Bradford, jr.; Taylor Holzinger, Lancaster, soph.; Kalli Schmelzer, Luxemburg-Casco, sr.; Caitlin Wenzel, Peshtigo, sr.; Chelsea Richter, Rosholt, sr.

C—Kayla Ahrens, Appleton East, jr.; Lauren Romanoski, Grantsburg, sr.; Casey Arnold, Kaukauna, jr.; Maggie Vils, Mosinee, jr.; Dana Ripp, Waunakee, sr.

Utility—Brooke Lauritzen, Pulaski, jr.


IF—Taylore Zbleski, Schofield Everst, jr.; Annie Palmquist, Grantsburg, sr.; Allyson Henessy, La Crosse Central, jr.; Katie Landon, Lancaster, jr.; Taylor Huss, Peshtigo, jr.; Mariah Giesseman, Sevastopol, sr.; Stephanie Kramer, Winnebago Lutheran, sr.

OF—Heather Schreiner, Athens, jr.; Bethany Reyzer, Altoona, jr.; Taylor Ruchti, Barneveld, jr.; Tana VandenHeuvel, Green Bay East, soph.; Marina Canne, Marinette, sr.P—Hillary Jenness, Altoona, sr.; Lauren Blasczyk, Appleton East, fr.; Erika Stampfli, Brodhead, jr.; Jamie Schuh, Freedom, sr.; Elizabeth Greatens, Green Bay East, sr.; Kirsten Tomlinson, Poynette, soph.

C—Chelsey Schobert, Belmont, sr.; Nikki Euhardy, New London, jr.; Patrice Suplicki, Stevens Point, sr.; Bailie Sheehan, Wilmot, soph.; Brianna Ssmith, Wisconsin Dells, soph.

Utility—Taylor Zube, West Allis Central, sr.

Players of the Year—Lauren Danner, Kaukauna, Division 1; Megan Duerlinger, New Berlin Eisenhower, Divison 2; Caitlin Wenzel, Peshtigo, Division 3; Chelsea Richter, Rosholt, Division 4.

Coach of the Year—Glenda Smith, Tigerton.


IF—Evie Schaller, Chippewa Falls, fr.; Anne Tronnes, Edgerton, jr.; Morgan Martens, Green Bay Preble, sr.; Aubrey Roberts, Kimberly, sr.; Lily Buckley, Menomonie, sr.; Lisa Karau, Mosinee, jr.; Katie Norman, Shoreland Lutheran, sr.

OF—Katie Ledwell, East Troy, jr.; Kylie Watzka, Green Bay Preble, sr.; Shelby Schrapf, Horicon, sr.; Rilee Schmitz, Mineral Point, sr.; Sydney Clarson, River Valley, fr.

P—Jeni Freiburger, Belmont, sr.; Casandra Craig, Neillsville, sr.; Laura Rafik, Stevens Point Pacelli, jr.; Shannon McGuire, River Valley, jr.; Alexandria Lorbetske, Three Lakes, sr.; Erin Ortner, Tigerton, soph.

C—Amanda Monson, Gilman, sr.; Emma Sawdey, Medford, sr.; Katie Koepsel, Oak Creek, jr.; Katie Gross, Oakfield, jr.; Zoe Hale, Turner, jr.

Utility—Tess Fadness, Eau Claire Memorial, sr.

Last updated: 2:35 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print