United Way honors partners at annual meeting

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, February 24, 2010
— Those attending United Way of North Rock County’s annual meeting Feb. 17 learned that so far $1.2 million had been raised toward the 2009 campaign’s $1.35 million goal.

The announcement was made by Phoebe Tobias and John Pearse, campaign co-chairs, according to a United Way press release.

“Despite the (economic) challenges, this year’s campaign was a huge success,” Tobias said. “In a time when all of us are feeling pressure, the caring people of north Rock County stepped up again and again to support their friends and neighbors in need.’’

Because more than 70 percent of campaign dollars are raised through workplace campaigns, United Way recognizes employee groups that achieve notable levels of participation and giving. Recipients of this year’s Employee Group Awards for outstanding support of the people of this community are:

-- Gold awards: Employee groups with at least 60 percent participation and $85 per capita—Adams Elementary School; Air Products; Alliant Energy; AnchorBank; Arrowhead Library System; Bank of Edgerton; Bank of Milton; City of Janesville—city manager’s office, economic development department and neighborhood services; Coldwell Banker SUCCESS; Community Action; Data Dimensions; Edison Middle School; Feingold & Read, LLP; First Community Bank Milton; Home Entry Services; HospiceCare; Jackson Elementary School; Johnson Bank; Kitson & Gaffney S.C.; M&I Bank Edgerton; Parker Community Credit Union; Rock County—administration, county clerk’s office, deferred prosecution office and real property description department; Roethe, Krohn, Pope, LLP; Salvation Army; Save-A-Lot Foods; Senior Services of Rock County; Southwest Wisconsin Workforce Development Board; ThyssenKrupp System Engineering; United Parcel Service; United Way of North Rock County; Washington Elementary School, and YWCA of Rock County.

-- Silver Awards: Employee groups with at least 50 percent participation and $50 per capita—Associated Collectors; Blackhawk Community Credit Union; Bliss Communications—The Janesville Gazette and WCLO/WJVL Radio; Boston Store; Boy Scouts of America-Glacier’s Edge Council No. 620; Catholic Charities; Children’s Service Society; City of Janesville—community development department, engineering department, information technology department, fire department and public works/technical services; Consigny, Andrews, Hemming & Grant S.C.; Fagan Chevrolet; Harris Ace Hardware; Janesville Community Day Care; Jefferson Elementary School; Logli Supermarket; Madison Elementary School; M&I Bank; Partners in Prevention; Rock County—coroner’s office and emergency management; Rock Energy Cooperative; Roosevelt Elementary School; School District of Janesville—educational services center; Van Buren Elementary School and Wells Fargo Advisors.

-- Bronze Awards: Employee groups with at least 40 percent participation and $25 per capita—Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLC; City of Janesville (overall); City of Janesville—police department and water utility; DEBCO Corp.; Franklin Middle School; Harrison Elementary School; HealthNet of Janesville; HUFCOR; Janesville Sand and Gravel; Lincoln Elementary School; McGladrey & Pullen; Monroe Elementary School; Robert W. Baird & Co.; Rock County—human resources department, information technology department, land conservation office and surveyor’s office; Rock River Charter School; School District of Janesville (overall); Schwartz & Shea Insurance; Sedor & Hoag, S.C.; SSI Technologies; US Bank, and Wilson Elementary School.

-- Best Practices Campaign Award: This award honors the workplace that most closely demonstrates United Way’s best practices techniques in planning and implementing its campaign. Data Dimensions ran a model campaign, achieving 80 percent participation and a 12 percent increase over last year, raising over $40,000.

-- Geraldine Hedberg Tocqueville Society Award: The United Way’s most prestigious volunteer award was presented to Paul D. Benish of M&I Bank.

Officers elected

The business portion of the meeting included the election of the organization’s board of directors and officers:

-- New members, elected for a three- year term were: Bill Boyd, Boyd Consulting; Karen Schulte, School District of Janesville; and Kerry Swanson, St. Mary’s Janesville Hospital.

-- Returning members, elected for a second three-year term were: Craig Knutson, Rock County.

-- 2010 board officers are: Lynn Gardinier, board chair; Barry Badertscher, board vice-chair; John Pearse, board treasurer; Gail Graham, president, United Way of North Rock County, board secretary; John Pearse, immediate past chair.

For more information on United Way, visit uwnrc.org or call (608) 757-3040.

Last updated: 12:49 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print