Warhawks second in WIAC tourney

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Monday, February 22, 2010

UW-Whitewater couldn’t catch perennial champion UW-La Crosse in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference wrestling tournament Sunday at UW-Stevens Point.

The Eagles topped the Warhawks, 154-118, to win their 13th consecutive championship. La Crosse claimed seven individual titles en route to the league-best 14th first-place team trophy in program archives.

Whitewater’s second-place finish is the best since the Warhawks won the WIAC title in 1991. The Warhawks have steadily progressed under head coach Tim Fader, advancing from fourth in his first year at Whitewater in 2005 to four consecutive third place finishes, and now second.

Austin Bautista won the Warhawks’ only title, posting a 4-2 decision in double overtime over La Crosse’s Alex Dahl at 141 pounds. It was Bautista’s third straight WIAC championship.

The Eagles’ Dan Laurent became the fourth wrestler in WIAC history to earn four straight 285-pound championships with a 5-2 decision over Whitewater’s Jon Schmidt.

Kyle Wacholder of Whitewater lost the 133-pound title bout to Bebeto Yewah of La Crosse in a 15-6 major decision, and Adam Latella of the Warhawks dropped a 9-3 decision to La Crosse’s Andy Moore in the 197-pound title match.

Bautista’s victory gave him an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Championship on March 5-6 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Teammates Schmidt and Latella earned an at-large berth.



La Crosse 154, Whitewater 118, Stevens Point 117, Platteville, 105.5, Oshkosh 90.5 Eau Claire 63.


125—Albie McKinney (LC) pinned Joe Mileski (SP), 2:44; 133—Bebeto Yewah (LC) major dec. Kyle Wachholder (W), 15-6. 141—Austin Bautista (W) dec. Alex Dahl (LC), 4-2. 149—Matt Mauseth (LC) dec. Kris Magruder (SP), 3-2. 157—Jesse Milks (P) dec. Ryan Farwell (LC), 7-0.

165—Cory Ferguson (LC) major dec. Jordan Schulte (SP), 22-9. 174—Mike Schmitz (LC) major dec. Sam Engelland (O), 8-0. 184—Ben Engelland (SP) dec. Mitch Artist (LC), 5-0. 197—Andy Moore (LC) dec. Adam Latella (W), 9-3. 285—Dan Laurent (LC) dec. Jon Schmidt (W), 5-2.

Last updated: 12:50 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print