Gazette staff wins 22 awards in WNA contest

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, February 19, 2010
— The Gazette newsroom made its biggest haul ever in the Wisconsin Newspaper Association’s 2009 Better Newspaper Contest.

Gazette reporters, photographers and editors earned 22 awards, including 10 first-place honors.

The newspaper’s best previous showing in number of awards was in the high teens, Editor Scott Angus said.

“This is a testament to the consistently high quality work being done in our newsroom,” Angus said. “And it isn’t just the number of awards. The type and breadth of awards also show how well this newspaper is serving its readers and the community.”

The Gazette competes in a class with 12 other daily newspapers with circulations of 10,000 to 25,000.

The WNA presented the awards during its annual conference last week in Middleton. The 2009 contest drew 2,233 entries from 119 newspapers. Members of the Illinois Press Association judged the entries. The contest was for content published between Sept. 1, 2008, and Aug. 31, 2009.

The Gazette’s winners:

First place—Editorials, Greg Peck.

First place—Breaking News Coverage; GM closes plant.

First place—Local Outdoor Column; Anna Marie Lux; Between the Lines.

First place—Sports Pages.

First place—Sports Feature; John Barry; Written in ink.

First place—Enterprise/Interpretive Reporting; GM closure.

First place—Environmental Reporting; Stacy Vogel; Plant problems persist.

First place—General News Photo; Dan Lassiter; Guard soldiers to train.

First place—Page Design-Feature; Ann Fiore; kicks.

First place—Continuing Web Coverage; General Motors: End of An Era.

Second place—General Excellence.

Second place—Editorial Pages; Greg Peck.

Second place—Special Section-Editorial; From Samson to Suburban.

Second place—Feature Photo; Dan Lassiter; Lauren Moren takes off.

Second place—Photo Essay; Bill Olmsted; Good bye and thanks.

Second place—Investigative Reporting; Ted Sullivan, Anna Marie Lux, Frank Schultz; Heroin: A deadly habit.

Second place—General Web Excellence; gazettextra.com.

Second place—Web Special Project; Emergency detentions: Vordermanns.

Second place—Continuing Web Coverage; Emergency detentions: Vordermanns.

Third place—Local Column; Scott Angus; Editor’s Views.

Third place—Investigative Reporting; Ted Sullivan; Law being grossly abused.

Honorable Mention—Web Special Project; General Motors: End of an Era.

Last updated: 12:51 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print