Low primary voter turnout for Rock County

Print Print
Stan Stricker
Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Rock County Clerk Lori Stottler says turnout was even lower than expected.

The Brodhead School referendum, Edgerton School Board race, and Rock County Supervisory District 20 primary did draw out the most voters, but countywide the turnout was still only 3%. The Brodhead School District referendum failed with 55% of the voters rejecting the $3.5 million spending question. Superintendent Chuck Deery anticipates now necessary budget cuts to include programs and staff. The April ballot for the Edgerton School Board is now set with John Falligant, James Salimes, Amy Richardson, Sara Stinski, Matt Towns, and David Weger vying for three seats. The Rock County Supervisory District 20 race was the closest with only six votes separating the three candidates. 67 for Kathy Kelm, 65 for Jane Thompson, and 61 for Wes Davis.

Ironically four write-in votes are yet to be included.

Last updated: 12:53 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print