Milton, Delavan-Darien win regional wrestling titles

Print Print
Sunday, February 14, 2010

Milton High’s wrestling team saved its best for last at Saturday’s WIAA Division 1 Beloit Regional.

After trailing in the team standings the entire tournament, Milton rallied in the championship round to win the regional title and advance to the Stoughton Team Sectional on Tuesday night. The Red Hawks finished with 201.5 points, while Kenosha Tremper was right behind at 194.

The Badger Conference champion Red Hawks will wrestle Stoughton for a trip to state—the sixth time in the last eight years that the two Badger Conference powerhouses have met. Milton last advanced to the State Team Tournament in 2008.

Delavan-Darien also will get a chance to advance to the State Team Tournament after the Comets won the Brodhead/Juda Regional title in Division 2. Delavan-Darien, which wrestled Stoughton for a trip to team state in Division 1 a year ago, will face River Valley in a semifinal bout at 6 p.m. Tuesday at the Wisconsin Dells Team Sectional.

Milton had only three individual champions in Garrett Whitehead, Ian Johnson and James Miller, but the Red Hawks piled up the points in the third- and fifth-place matches, along with the wrestlebacks.

“This team is battle tested,” Milton coach Pat Jauch said. “And I think that’s because of the schedule we wrestled this season. Our kids know what to expect.

“We hand our hands full today. (Kenosha) Tremper, Wilmot and Burlington were as good as advertised. The key for us was staying close all day, and then using our depth at the end.”

Delavan-Darien had five champions in winning the regional title with 230 points. Clinton, the Rock Valley Conference champion, was second with 208 and had two champions, including 112-pounder Daniel Banh, now 37-0 on the season.

Host Brodhead/Juda had three consecutive champions as Ben Conway (189), Cody Spooner (215) and Dylan Severson (285) won regional titles.

Orfordville Parkview’s Alex Hauri improved to 31-4 by winning the 103-pound title at Brodhead, while teammate Jeremy Graham was the champion at 152.

East Troy finished third at the Division 2 Pewaukee Regional, with Steve Edwards (130), Jacob Zess (140) and Adam Kehl (152) winning titles for the Trojans.

Elkhorn was second at the Division 1 Watertown Regional, and had one champion in 171-pounder KC Verhoeven.

Last updated: 12:55 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print