Hoop-shoot winners advance

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, December 23, 2010
— Five age-division winners have emerged from local competition in the 39th annual National Elks Hoop-Shoot Contest.

The results in the free-throw-shooting event at the Janesville Athletic Club, sponsored by Elks Lodge #254:

Girls 8-9—1. Lizzie Uhl; 2. Abbey Schrader. Boys 8-9—1. A.J. Gray; 2. Booker Burden; 3. Bennett Buswell.

Girls 10-11—1. Amy Groshan; 2. Elizabeth Task; 3. Keara Richards. Boys 10-11—Sam Rufer; 2. Blake McCann; 3. Anthony Schrader, Maddux Buswell, tied.

Girls 12-13—1. Kylie Moe; 2. Annie Schumacher; 3. Kamryn Brittingham.

Trophies were awarded to the top three in each division.

Local winners advance to the Jan. 9 district finals at Aldrich Middle School in Beloit. They will compete against winners from Beloit, Baraboo, Madison, Platteville and Portage.

District winners qualify for the February state finals in Wausau, with a chance to advance to national regional and national competition.

Last updated: 3:45 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print