Nominees sought for Hedberg honor

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Friday, December 10, 2010
— The United Way of North Rock County is accepting nominations for the 2011 Geraldine Hedberg Tocqueville Society Award, which honors a local person for outstanding volunteer service to the community.

Recipients are judged based on the below criteria.

-- Commitment to volunteering.

-- Creativity in devising new and better ways of performing volunteering assignments or in meeting community needs.

-- Outstanding leadership in volunteers service as well as serving in the ranks.

-- Sustained service over a period of years, not necessarily in one post or organization.

-- Inspirational in that the activities and quality of performance stimulated others to serve and work harder.

-- Scope should be of significance to the community.

-- Tangible effect of service.

Nominees' volunteerism must have taken place in and benefited the local area served by United Way of North Rock County, which includes Edgerton, Evansville, Footville, Janesville, Milton and Orfordville.

A committee of United Way volunteers will review nominations and pick one. The award will be presented at the United Way's annual meeting Feb. 23, 2011.

The award is named after the late Geraldine Hedberg, who is described as one of the area's most generous benefactors.

Nominations will be accepted through Monday, Dec. 20. Nomination forms are available at uwnrc.org or by calling the United Way office at (608) 757-3040.

Last updated: 3:52 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print