Woodrum rolls to six-stroke victory

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
— Bob Woodrum rolled to the Men’s City Senior Golf Tournament championship Tuesday at Glen Erin.

Woodrum carded a 4-over-par-75 for a 36-hole total of 149 in the 50/59-year-old division. He earned a six-shot victory over seven-time men’s city champion Chris Pastore, who posted a final-round 78, closing with a 155 total.

Woodrum had five bogeys and a birdie to go along with 12 pars. Pastore marked a pair of birdies, but suffered nine bogeys to go with seven pars.

Scott Schuett and Rob Ackerman tied for third, each finishing at 157. Schuett posted a final-round 78, and Ackerman finished with a 77.

Bill Kennedy shot the low round of the day en route to winning the 60/69 division. Kennedy closed with a 3-over 74 for a 156 victory total. Kennedy propelled his round with three birdies.

Mike Reid and Dale Bladorn each finished five shots behind Kennedy and tied for second at 161. Reid closed with a 79, and Bladorn carded a 78.

In the closest contest, Phil Borkenhagen withstood Don Cherry’s charge for a one-stroke victory in the 70/79 division.

Borkenhagen carded an 88 to go with an opening-round 89 for a 177 total. Cherry came back from a first-round 93 with a closing-round 85 for a 178

final total.

Cherry had six pars but suffered a pair of double bogeys, including a double-bogey seven on the 18th hole. Borkenhagen had a birdie and survived four double bogeys.


At Glen Erin Golf Club (Par 71)



Bob Woodrum, 74-75—149; Chris Pastore, 77-78—155; Scott Schuett, 79-78—157; Rob Ackerman, 80-77—157; Gary Merk, 82-78—159; Miguel Cepeda, 85-75—160; Jim Libetrau, 81-79—160; Matt Micek, 80-80—160; Tom Wolfe, 78-83—161; Jimmy Mead, 78-83—161; Dave Huibregtse, 81-81—162; Steve Babcock, 82-81—163; Paul Weise, 90-80—170; Keith Trembula, 90-82—172; Steve Hiser, 91-84—175; Joe Mergener, 90-86—176; Greg Mullen, 89-90—179; Tim Millis, 96-86—182; Danny Kido, 94-94—188.


Bill Kennedy, 82-74—156; Mike Reid, 82-79—161; Dale Bladorn, 82-79—161; Phil Chilson, 83-82—165; Mike Mead, 87-82—169; Rich Haberman, 88-81—169; George Larson, 84-86—170; Jim Crawford, 88-83—171; Scott Schadel, 92-80—172; Jim Lambert, 87-85—172; Sam Rogula, 89-84—173; Dave Langowski, 91-83—174; Bob Champion, 91-83—174; Paul Burkholder, 91-90—181; Dan Collins, 93-88—181; Dave Johnson, 93-89—182; Jerry Shere, 91-95—186; John Eells, 100-92—192; Bob Schaffner, 104-92—196; Ron Johnson, 108-94—202.


Phil Borkenhagen, 89-88—177; Don Cherry, 93-85—178; Richard Moore, 98-88—186; John Jensen, 95-93—188; Rich Schmitz, 90-99—189; Loren Mathison, 91-99—190; John Maginot, 99-104—203; Darrell Wild, 122-113—235.

Last updated: 2:38 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print