Janesville’s Behm shoots 71; Milton’s Wieland fires a 69

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, August 25, 2010
— Patrick Stolpe of Muskego birdied four straight holes to post a second-round 65 to lead the Wisconsin State Open golf tournament at The Legend at Bristlecone on Tuesday.

Stolpe has a one-stroke advantage over Daniel Woltman of Beaver Dam and first-round co-leader Eddie Terasa of Waukesha. Stolpe’s 5-under round and his first-round 69 leave him at 134. The tournament heads to a 36-hole finale today.

Stolpe’s round included an eagle at the par-5, 512-yard seventh hole. Stolpe birdied 15, 16, 17 and 18 to seal the low round of the day. Woltman carded a 3-under 67, while Teresa posted a 2-under 68.

Janesville amateur Matt Behm shot a 1-over 71 for a 144 total to trail Stolpe by 10 strokes. Behm had a pair of birdies and posted three bogeys.

Kirk Weiland of Milton carded a 1-under 69 to go with his first-round 73 for a 142 total to trail Stolpe by eight shots. Weiland birdied three holes on the back nine to highlight his round.

First-round leaders with Teresa, Jack Gaudion and Gregory Fehrman, fell back into the pack. Fehrman of Rothchild carded a 5-over 75 to join five others in 18th place, and Gaudion of Wales is tied for 25th with five others after carding a 6-over 76.

Owen Butler, a former Milton High School golfer, trails the leader by six strokes at 140. Butler, from Fitchburg, carded an 2-over 72 to go with his first-round 68.

Mark Voeller, a former Whitewater standout, shot a second-round 1-over 71 to trail the leader by seven strokes at 141. Richard Pfeil, an amateur from Lake Geneva, carded even-par 70 for a 143 total.

Meanwhile, Austin and Alex Gaugert of Lake Geneva failed to make the cut at 147. Former Edgerton standout Michael Hesselman of West Bend, Fort Atkinson amateur Evan Wartgow and Lake Geneva’s Eric Lorenzetti each missed the cut.


At The Legend at Bristlecone,

Hartland (70)


134—Patrick Stolpe, Muskego, 69-65.

135—Daniel Woltman, Beaver Dam, 68 67; Eddie Terasa, Waukesha, 67 68.

137—Charlie Delsman, Colgate, 72-65.

138—Jon Turcott, Middleton, 71-67.

139—Garrett Jones, Rewey, 70-69; David Roesch, Germantown, 73-66; Jeff Bisbee, Green Bay, 69-70.

140—Ryan Helminen, Appleton, 70 70; Owen Butler, Fitchburg, 68-72.

141—Mark Voeller, Waukesha, 70-71; Tyler Obermueller, River Falls, 71-70; Joe DeRosa, Onalaska, 70-71; Andy Hansen, Mequon, 71-70; David Merkow, Hartland, 72-69; Rick Witt, Madison, 72-69; Brian Brodell, Verona, 74-67.

142—Jordan Elsen, Kenosha, 70-72; Kevin Cahill (a), Waukesha, 68-74, Gregory Fehrman (a), Rothschild, 67-75; Andrew Rauscher, River Falls, 72 70; Mike Sorenson (a), Hartland, 70-72; Ben Bendtsen III, Racine, 73-69; Kirk Wieland, Milton, 73-69.

143—Jack Gaudion, Wales, 67-76; Mike Johnston, Milwaukee, 73-70; Todd Schaap (a) Kenosha, 72-71; Corey Sell, Milwaukee, 70-73; Richard Pfeil (a), Lake Geneva, 73-70; Jason Samuelian, Milwaukee, 76-67; Robert Gregorski (a), Menasha, 70-73; Thomas Halla (a), Colgate, 71-72.

144—Jeffrey Kaiser, Middleton, 72-72; Matt Behm (a) Janesville, 73-71; Maxwell Hosking (a), Madison, 72-72; Andy Bang, Sheboygan, 72-72; Brady Strangstalien (a), Westby, 74-70; Matt Garber, Hudson, 72-72; Andrew Steinhofer, Madison, 70-74; Neil Johnson, River Falls, 73 71.

145—Derrick Meier (a), Chilton, 76-69; Jack Schultz (a), Whitefish Bay, 75-70; Patrick Duffy, Appleton, 76-69; Austin Ehlenfeldt (a), Beaver Dam, 74-71; Jason Hill, Greenville, 74-71; Kevin Schoppe, Wausau, 74 71; Nicholas Byom, Lake Mills, 72-73; Kelly Kretz (a), Antigo, 73-72; Miles McConnell (a), Middleton, 71-74.

146—Paul Jacobsen (a), Racine, 72 74; Charlie Brown, Sturtevant, 74-72; Jim Schuman, Verona, 72-74; Thomas Welk (a), Madison, 74-72; Michael Crowley, Milwaukee, 71-75; Matthew Hilton, Muskego, 74-72.

147—Travis Meyer, Charlotte, N.C., 75-72; Pat Boyle (a), South Milwaukee, 70-77; Steve Krause, Hales Corners, 74-73; Jason Allen, Stevens Point, 72-75; Kyle Murphy (a), Milwaukee, 69-78; Nathan Gray, Menomonee Falls, 76-71; Mike McDonald (a), Germantown, 70 77; Tim McCormick (a), Madison, 74-73; Ryan Prickette (a), Neenah, 71-76; Paul Zarek (a), Burlington, 76 71; Brad Slocum (a), Mequon, 73 74; Wes Hansen, Oconomowoc, 73-74; Tim Grogan, Milwaukee, 71-76.

Missed Cut

(Area Players)

152—Michael Hesselman (a), West Bend, 79 73; Austin Gaugert (a), Lake Geneva, 76 76; Brett Weber, Whitewater, 76 76.

155—Mike Muranyi, Monroe, 77-78.

157—Nick Krattiger Monroe, 78-79.

159—Evan Wartgow (a), Fort Atkinson, 79-80.

161—Craig Hoesly (a), Monroe, 84-77.

163—Alex Gaugert (a), Lake Geneva, 84-79.

166—Eric Lorenzetti, Lake Geneva, 81-85.

Last updated: 2:38 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print