Parker golfers win opening Elkhorn Invitational

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Friday, August 13, 2010

Mary Ross was forced to miss her debut as Janesville Parker High School's girls golf coach, but the Vikings delivered in her absence.

While the first-year coach was recovering from an emergency appendectomy, Parker's team of Amanda Becker, Jennifer Polglaze, Taylor Utzig and Katie Conroy won the Elkhorn Invitational with a best-best ball score of 5-under-par 67 in the scramble event Thursday at Evergreen.

In capturing the title for the fourth straight year, Parker matched the tournament record score it set a year ago.

Turner was second in the 13-school tournament with a 70, followed by Lake Geneva Badger with a 71.

Former coach John Zimmerman stepped in for Ross, who expects to return next week. Parker will be back action at 9 a.m. today in the Edgewood Invitational at Yahara Hills, where Janesville Craig will playing its season opener.

Elkhorn Invitational

At Evergreen (Par 72)


Janesville Parker 67, Turner 70, Lake Geneva Badger 71, Elkhorn No. 1 76, Union Grove 77, Racine St. Catherine's 78, East Troy 78, Wilmot 78, Lakeside Lutheran 81, Elkhorn No. 2 82, Delavan-Darien 83, Waterford 91, Whitewater 95.


Janesville Parker (67)—Amanda Becker, Jennifer Poglaze, Taylor Utzig, Katie Conroy

Turner (70)—Kate Engler, Hannah Grinke, Megan Zandlar, Jackie Rogers.

Lake Geneva Badger (71)—Annie Gaugert, Claire Schneider, Bergen Quaerna, Laura Fortner.

Elkhorn No. 1 (76)—Maggie Luchsinger, Allison White, Rebecca Russell, Hannah Grobelny.

Union Grove (77)—Sarah Bretl, Elaine Funk, Paige Murdoch, Skylar Schultz.

Wilmot (78)—Kelly O'Neill, Tatum Stoller, Kelli Hutchinson, Brianna Hayden.

Racine St. Catherine's (78)—Savana Siep-ler, Sydney Tepley, Natalie Theisen, Taylor Rammelt.

East Troy (78)—Sammy Javorek, Olivia Olson, Caitlyn Strand, Brooke Leising.

Lakeside Lutheran (81)—Amy Greiling, Mikaela Vomhof, Sierra Tackett, Kirsten Ulm.

Elkhorn No. 2 (82)—Ali Joaquin, Ali Burtraw, Emily Grobelny, Kayla Brellenthin.

Delavan-Darien (83)—Brittney Belden, Maghan Smith, Nataline Duerig, Nicole Densmore.

Waterford (91)—Jennifer Parker, Leilyn Nowacznski, Emily Powers, Amelie Beland.

Whitewater (95)—Hye Hyun Kang, Kelly Grady, Destine Fuchs, Maggie Wantschik.

Last updated: 2:44 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print