Election results

Print Print
Beth Wheelock
Tuesday, April 6, 2010

School district referendums did not survive Tuesday's elections in Rock County, as voters in both the Brodhead and Parkview school districts vetoed extra spending.

Both questions failed in Parkview, and this was the second referendum of the year in Brodhead. Janesville's school board race turned out well for those who actively campaigned, as Peter Severson, Karl Dommershausen and Kristin Hesselbacher were elected to the board. Two other candidates were on the ballot, but each had decided not to seek the position.

Incumbents fared well in Janesville's city council race, as Tom McDonald, Kathy Voskuil and Yuri Rashkin were each re-elected to a second two-year term. Each incumbent names job creation and economic development as a top priority in the coming term.

The City of Milton will have two new faces on the council. Nancy Lader and Robert McLinn will join incumbent David Adams. The City of Edgerton has a new mayor. Christopher Lund unseats on-again-off-again Mayor Matt McIntyre. In area school board races, Evansville district voters elected Eric Busse and Nancy Hurley. Edgerton district voters chose Amy Richardson, John Falligant and Matt Towns. In Clinton, Ken Luety and Tom Howard are the top picks.

For the contested Rock County Board supervisory seats, two upsets. In District 19, Brent Fox unseats incumbent Jim Joiner and in District 25, Billy Bob Grahn loses to Dave Innis.

In the other County Board races, Hank Brill wins in District 7, Wayne Gustina in District 12, Betty Jo Bussie in District 17, Jane Thompson in District 20, Russ Podzilni in District 22, Larry Wiedenfeld in District 26 and Katie Kuznacic in District 29.

Overall, County Clerk Lori Stottler says voters had a dismal turnout at the polls. She says about 13.7 percent of registered voters cast ballots Tuesday. The average for a spring election is between 14 and 16 percent.

Last updated: 1:40 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print