Five head into Janesville Hall

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, April 1, 2010

Five new members have been selected for 2010 induction into the Janesville Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by The Janesville Gazette, has scheduled its 21th annual induction ceremony for Saturday, May 15, at the Janesville Performing Arts Center. A social hour is set for 6 p.m., which will be followed by the program.

Stories on each of the inductees will be featured in Sunday editions of the Gazette.

These people will be inducted:

-- Ben Berlowski—an Associated Press first-team all-state basketball star for Janesville Craig High School in 1992, who scored 1,255 points and made the All-Horizon League first team in a four-year NCAA Division I career at UW-Green Bay.

-- Laura Glass—a 1975 Janesville Parker High School graduate, who became the school’s first female athlete to win nine letters, while competing in swimming, basketball and track, before becoming a cross country and track competitor at UW-La Crosse.

-- Jenny Gullickson—a 1986 Parker High graduate, whose highly accomplished swim career included the 1984 WIAA state championship in the 50-yard freestyle, a second-place finish in 1985 and four University of Illinois records.

-- Richard Lambrecht—a pillar of Janesville sports in a 32-year local teaching career, including 28 years as Parker High swim coach, after winning 11 letters as a Waukesha High School athlete and 11 at North Central College in Naperville, Ill.

-- Dr. Ray Martinez—a 1983 Parker High graduate, who won nine letters in earning the school’s American Legion Athletic Medal before highlighting a four-year UW-La Crosse football career as a starting safety on the 1985 NCAA Division III national championship team.

They will join these previous inductees:

1990—Pat Dawson, Stan DuFrane, Evelyn Kettle, Kenneth Kitelinger, Robert Krueger, Bob Luchsinger Sr., Robert J. Morgan, Ted Scalissi.

1991—Kent Burdick, Kenneth F. Bick, Robert E. Cone, Jim Davies, James F. Fitzgerald, Carol Sorenson Flenniken, Beulah Paynter, Edward F. Quaerna.

1992—George Clatworthy, Jerry Davis, Dr. Timothy Paterick, Harold E. Rebholz, Donna Rusch, Johnny Saxer, Fred T. Westphal.

1993—Roy Coyle, Len W. Gersmehl, Jan Hoffman, Carol Luther, Barbara Dietz Mayer, Steve Neece.

1994—Harold Kotwitz, Sharon Dollins Landsee, Frank Rabiola, George Raubacher, Keith Sterk, Robert E. Strampe Jr., Rolland Sultze.

1995—Ronald O. Boyd, Carol Enke, Ross Kingsley, Sam Leete, Fred Townsend.

1996—Mark A. Cullen, William G. Lathrop Sr., Arnold E. Quaerna, Patrick J. Schloemer, Maureen Sheehan.

1997—Ronald W. Fraser, Gary Gloede, Jody Rittenhouse White, Terry Ryan, Brian Steinke.

1998—Dale W. Barry, Dick Hemming, Dan Madden, Charles W. Weber Jr., Susan Von Behren Witte.

1999—William L. Henke, Robert Luchsinger Jr., Richard C. Meier, Nancy K. Russo, Ervin “Jimmy” Johnson.

2000—Lori Kemnitz Bell, Gerald “Jed” Black, Charles Bolton, Joseph Coulter, Stan Fox.

2001—The Rev. David Boyd, John Brodie, Jennah Burkholder Hartwig, Wesley Mayer, Steve Van Galder,

2002—Charles D. Fisher, Lyle G. Gifford, John E. “Jack” Herrington, Camilla L. Owen, Thomas R. Schumacher.

2003—Shane Fleming, Lois A. Gilmore, Lawrence A. Hough, Ralph W. Truesdill, John W. Westphal.

2004—Michael C. Davis, Paul A. Hanewall, Michael Liebenstein Jr., Evelyn Sieg, Chris Weber.

2005—John Bobzien, Tom Carpenter, Roger A. Fenrick, Dan Hauser, Brenda Smith-Beagley.

2006—Richard S. Brodie, Mark Greenhalgh, T. William Schleisner, Kristen Yahr Cope, Daniel T. Kowal.

2007—Walter Burkheimer, Gregg Clatworthy, Lynn Klipstine, Eric Liebenstein, Sam Mylin.

2008—Jamie Anderson, Richlard Kingsley, Robb Logterman, Steven Nickols and John Thiede.

2009—Ann Pastula Benner, J.P. Cullen, Steve Ellis, Dan Ryczek and Bob Suter.

Tickets information for the induction and other program details will be announced later.

Last updated: 1:42 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print