Warhawks’ Gerber WIAC Player of Year

Print Print
Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Emily Gerber is only a sophomore, but the UW-Whitewater forward already is on top of the league in women’s soccer.

Gerber, who started all 20 games for the Warhawks this season and set school records with 24 goals and 49 points, has been named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s Player of the Year.

The honor—a first in Warhawk history—tops off a season in which Gerber scored at least one point in 15 games and had multiple goals in eight games, including a hat trick. Those efforts lifted the DeForest High School graduate’s college career totals to 30 goals and 63 points in 37 games.

Gerber is joined on the coaches’ all-conference first team by Whitewater senior midfielder Becky Cera, one of only three repeaters from a year ago. The others are UW-Oshkosh junior midfielder Caitlin Casey and UW-Stevens Point junior midfielder Mary Jean Cornelius.

Whitewater also has freshman goalkeeper Jacqueline Piasecki and junior defender Jenna Samp on the first team, and Cera has been named to the all-sportsmanship team.

Stevens Point’s Sheila Miech is a repeater as Coach of the Year. In receiving the honor for the eighth time, she led the Pointers to their 13th regular-season a title, the conference tournament championship and an NCAA Division III tournament berth.

All-WIAC Women’s Soccer


Defender—Kaitlin Arjes, Stout, jr.; Megan Hillesheim, Eau Claire, jr.; Kelly Lloyd, Stevens Point, jr.; Nikki Reed, Oshkosh, soph.; Jenna Samp, Whitewater, jr.; Cassie Stang, River Falls, fr.; Jamie Wiepz, La Crosse, soph.

Forward—Janae Baron, River Falls, fr.; Carmen Fiordellisi, Oshkosh, fr.; Emily Gerber, Whitewater, soph.; Kristi Nickels, Stevens Point, fr.; Jackie Spees, Stevens Point, sr.; Anna Strasser, Platteville, fr.; Lindsay Wilde, La Crosse, fr.

Midfielder—Caitlin Casey, Oshkosh, jr.; Becky Cera, Whitewater, sr.; Mary Jean Cornelius, Stevens Point, jr.; Shula Gilbertson, Eau Claire, fr.; Alli Kishaba, Eau Claire, sr.; Eryn Lansverk, River Falls, soph.

Goalkeeper—Liz Hunter, Stevens Point, jr.; Jacqueline Piasecki, Whitewater, fr.

Player of the Year—Emily Gerber, Whitewater.

Coach of the Year—Sheila Miech, Stevens Point.

Last updated: 11:56 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print