Warhawks net WIAC awards

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, November 11, 2009

UW-Whitewater’s Caitlin Hogan and Keri Klotzbuecher have repeated as All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference first-team volleyball players.

Hogan is a junior outside hitter, who leads the Warhawks with 359 kills and ranks second on the team with 103 blocks.

Klotzbuecher is a sophomore outside hitter who ranks second on the team with 319 kills.

Melissa Zuleger, a senior middle blocker on the Warhawks, also has earned first-team honors. She ranks third on the team with 310 kills and is third with 100 blocks.

Alyssa Bauer, a sophomore libero, tops the list of the four-member all-defensive team. She leads the Warhawks with 683 digs, an average of 5.25 per set.

Warhawk senior Alyse Karls, a setter, has earned honorable mention.

Annie Berkley, a senior libero for the Warhawks, has earned a berth on the all-sportsmanship team.

The Warhawks (31-6) begin NCAA Division III tournament play at 12:30 p.m. Thursday against the University of Saint Thomas (24-7) in the first round of a regional hosted by UW-Oshkosh.

Edgerton High graduate Stephanie Tronnes, a senior middle hitter/outside hitter for UW-Platteville, was named to the all-sportsmanship team.

UW-Oshkosh’s Jacque Ray, a senior middle blocker, is the Player of the Year.

Ray led the WIAC with 3.95 points per set, while ranking second with a .327 hitting percentage and 1.20 blocks per set and third with 3.10 kills per set.

UW-Oshkosh’s Brian Schaefer has been voted the Coach of the Year for the second straight season and third time in his career. He also won the award in 2005. The Titans had a

29-match winning streak to start the season. He owns a

185-28 record in six seasons in charge of the Titans.

All-WIAC Women’s Volleyball


Name, School, Year, Position

Katie Beining, Oshkosh, Sr., Outside Hitter

Christina Cahoon, Oshkosh, Jr., Libero

Gina DeRosa, River Falls, Sr., Middle Hitter

Melissa Hillebrand, Platteville, Jr., Outside Hitter

Caitlin Hogan, Whitewater, Jr., Outside Hitter

Keri Klotzbuecher, Whitewater, Soph., Outside Hitter

Kristen Moore, Eau Claire, Sr., Outside Hitter

Jacque Ray, Oshkosh, Sr., Middle Blocker

Kelsey Scheele, River Falls, Sr., Outside Hitter

Brianne Stankus, La Crosse, Sr., Outside Hitter

Katelyn Vara, Oshkosh, Sr., Setter

Melissa Zuleger, Whitewater, Sr., Middle Blocker


Chelsie Christofferson, Superior, Sr., Outside Hitter

Briana Kaiser, Platteville, Soph., Middle Hitter

Alyse Karls, Whitewater, Sr., Setter

Danielle Lucia, Eau Claire, Jr., Middle Blocker

Kate Mikutowski, Stout, Fr., Outside Hitter.

Pam Nora, Stevens Point, Sr., Middle Hitter/Outside Hitter

Ali Sikic, Platteville, Soph., Setter

Rachel Ver Voort, Eau Claire, Jr., Outside Hitter

Emily Zupon, Eau Claire, Jr., Outside Hitter


Alyssa Bauer, Whitewater, Soph., Libero

Christina Cahoon, Oshkosh, Jr., Libero

Abby Carey, Platteville, Jr., Libero

Alicia Mizer, Stout, Sr., Libero


Annie Berkley, Whitewater, Sr., Libero

Megan Fischer, Oshkosh, Sr., Outside Hitter

Cassie Hunt, Eau Claire, Sr., Defensive Specialist/Setter

Sara Kjos, Stout, Soph., Middle Hitter

Pam Nora, Stevens Point, Sr., Middle Hitter/Outside Hitter

Liz Schlobohm, La Crosse, Soph., Setter

Audra Stevenson, Superior, Sr., Outside Hitter

Stephanie Tronnes, Platteville, Sr., Middle Hitter/Outside Hitter

Andria Vetsch, River Falls, Sr., Outside Hitter

Player of the Year: Jacque Ray of Oshkosh

Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete: Brianne Stankus of La Crosse

Coach of the Year: Brian Schaefer of Oshkosh

Last updated: 2:05 pm Thursday, December 20, 2012

Print Print