GMs pass on expanding instant replay

Print Print
Associated Press
Wednesday, November 11, 2009
— Upon further review ... baseball general managers like instant replay the way it is.

GMs failed to take a vote Tuesday on expanding instant replay following a postseason filled with blown calls by umpires.

“I know there are some who have talked off line about the expansion of instant replay,” said Jimmie Lee Solomon, executive vice president of baseball operations in the commissioner’s office. “Right now, the commissioner doesn’t see any reason to consider it.”

Baseball began video review in August 2008 but only to determine whether potential home runs were fair or foul or cleared fences.

Any change for 2010 likely would be likely have to be instigated by commissioner Bud Selig, who repeatedly has said he’s against widening the use of video review. While there was discussion, Solomon said “it was all confined to the current instant replay system that we have.”

“I think it’s working great, and for the most part the umpires are getting the calls right when replay is used,” Los Angeles Angels GM Tony Reagins said. “Can we always tweak and get better? Absolutely. But I think were headed in the right direction. For the most part they’re getting calls right and not afraid to use instant replay. As long as things are moving in the right direction, I don’t see a need to change.”

-- Other topics touched on during the GMs’

initial 4½-hour meeting were restructuring the Arizona Fall League to include younger players and modifying the amateur draft to reflect the previous year’s postseason performance.

Solomon said there was no discussion on pace of the game, a topic that came to the forefront during the World Series after numerous visits to the mound by Yankees catcher Jorge Posada.

-- No major trades were expected at this shorter-than-usual annual meeting, which ends today. Agents also are on hand at the gathering, being held at a hotel in O’Hare International Airport. Among the top available free agents are outfielders Matt Holliday and Jason Bay, pitcher John Lackey and infielder Chone Figgins.

Scully plans to work in 2010, then decide future

Vin Scully said Tuesday he will continue in the broadcast booth for the Los Angeles Dodgers through the 2010 season, then decide whether he will walk away.

The Hall of Fame announcer told The Associated Press that he still loves the job he’s had with the team since 1950, but that it’s hard to be away from his wife during a long season.

“I’m trying to figure out if I can walk away,” he said. “I’m the horse pulling the wagon with a lot of people on the wagon, so I’m really not sure. God willing, I’ll do next year and then we’ll just have to wait and see.”

Scully, who turns 82 on Nov. 29, and his wife Sandy celebrated their 36th wedding anniversary Tuesday.

Scully’s 59-year tenure with the Dodgers is the longest of any current sports broadcaster with the same team. He calls all nine innings of the team’s television broadcasts, while the first three innings of his games are simulcast on the radio.

Scully works alone on the air and long ago reduced his travel schedule to avoid calling games east of the Rockies, although he calls road games against the Dodgers’ NL West and AL West opponents.

Jeter, Teixeira win Gold Gloves

Derek Jeter sure is stuffing his trophy case this year. The steady Yankees shortstop won his fourth Gold Glove on Tuesday, joining New York first baseman Mark Teixeira among the American League players rewarded for fantastic fielding.

“I’ve always taken a great deal of pride in my defense, and being honored with a Gold Glove is an accomplishment I will never overlook,” Jeter said in a statement.

Los Angeles Angels center fielder Torii Hunter and Seattle right fielder Ichiro Suzuki both won for the ninth straight season. First-time winners included Tampa Bay third baseman Evan Longoria, Baltimore outfielder Adam Jones and Chicago White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle.

Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Detroit second baseman Placido Polanco each earned their second award.

Rawlings has presented Gold Gloves annually since 1957.

National League winners will be announced today.

Last updated: 11:58 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print