Meister, Kobs earn top honor

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, November 5, 2009

Parity ruled in Big Eight Conference cross country this season.

Madison West is the only school to have more than one runner selected to the all-conference first team as three Regent girls earned that honor.

On the boys side, seven schools are represented on the first team, including Janesville Craig sophomore Tommy Meister and Janesville Parker junior Taran Kobs.

“I don’t think there’s any question that our conference is very competitive,” Craig High co-head coach Jessica Lawton said. “And I think the all-conference selections are a good representation of that. Even at the state level, we were probably the most competitive conference up there.

“It wasn’t that long ago that Madison La Follette’s boys were so strong that every one of their runners were named to the first team. That’s certainly not the case any longer.”

Meister had a breakout season for the Cougar boys. He finished in the top three at three invitationals and was 21st at the state meet to help lead the Cougars to a ninth-place finish in Division 1.

“Tommy ran very well for us this season and deserves the recognition,” Lawton said. “Hopefully, Tommy and the rest of the kids that are coming back can build off of this season.”

Kobs improved his overall times by more than a minute from a year ago and was rewarded with a first-team selection. He missed qualifying for the state meet by two seconds.

“Taran was asked to fill the shoes of Duncan Brose and did a great job for us in that regard,” Parker boys coach Dan Bouska said.

“In our conference, to be named to the first team is a big deal, and Taran worked hard to get that recognition.”

Four Cougar girls have been named to the second team. Senior Regina Griffith is joined by junior Rachel Gilmore, along with sophomores Stephanie Perleberg and Jessie Finnane.

Craig freshman Teryn Bordwell is honorable mention. The Cougars finished sixth in Division 1 at the WIAA state meet.

All-Big Eight cross country



Abdou Seye, sr., Madison La Follette; Gabe Heck, sr., Madison East; Tommy Meister, soph., Janesville Craig; Sam Hacker, jr., Madison West; Jordan Carlson, jr., Madison Memorial; Dan LaCroix, jr., Verona; Taran Kobs, jr., Janesville Parker.


Benji Hansen, sr., Madison Memorial; Nick Hensen, sr., Middleton; Eric Gudgeon, sr., Janesville Craig; Matt Bordwell, sr., Janesville Craig; Aaron Heiliger, sr., Madison Memorial; Charlie Thompson, jr., Madison West; Eric Biggers, sr., Verona.


Chandler Diffee, fr., Madison La Follette; Tyler Hart, sr., Sun Prairie.



Elizabeth Berkholtz, sr., Sun Prairie; Nichole Bathe, fr., Verona; Sarah Baltisberger, sr., Madison La Follette; Marika Rosenblum, sr., Madison West; Claire Brickson, sr., Madison East; Bailey Flanigan, soph., Madison West; Olivia Pratt, soph., Madison West.


Darcy Dean, fr., Middleton; Sara Monson, jr., Madison La Follette; Regina Griffith, sr., Janesville Craig; Rachel Gilmore, jr., Janesville Craig; Josey Stock, fr., Sun Prairie; Jessie Finnane, soph., Janesville Craig; Stephanie Perleberg, soph., Janesville Craig.


Teryn Bordwell, fr., Janesville Craig; Nicole Kollman, jr., Verona.

Last updated: 12:01 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print