Janesville Sports Hall of Fame will induct five

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Five new members have been selected for 2009 induction into the Janesville Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by The Janesville Gazette, has scheduled its 20th annual induction dinner for Saturday, May 9, at the Rotary Gardens. A social hour is set for 5:30 p.m., which will be followed by the dinner at 6:30 and the program.

Stories on each of the inductees will be featured in Sunday editions of the Gazette.

These people will be inducted:

-- Ann Pastula Benner—Big Eight Player of the Year for Janesville Parker High School’s 1982 Big Eight co-championship basketball team.
-- J.P. Cullen—Starting halfback on Janesville High’s 1942 Big Eight championship football team, a basketball starter for the Bluebirds and a lifelong friend of sports throughout the state.
-- Steve Ellis—Standout pitcher for Parker’s 1969 baseball team, who has devoted more than 35 years to Janesville Youth Baseball.
-- Dan Ryczek—Associated Press first-team all-state quarterback for Janesville Craig’s unbeaten 1974 football team, member of the Cougars’ first two WIAA state tournament basketball teams and the school’s 1975 American Legion Athletic Medal winner.
-- Bob Suter—Janesville native, who won four Big Eight championships as Craig football coach, three WIAA state titles in baseball and just completed a 23-year career as boys head basketball coach, during which his teams won 386 games, seven conference titles and qualified for the state tournament seven times.

They will join these previous inductees:

1990—Pat Dawson, Stan DuFrane, Evelyn Kettle, Kenneth Kitelinger, Robert Krueger, Bob Luchsinger Sr., Robert J. Morgan, Ted Scalissi.
1991—Kent Burdick, Kenneth F. Bick, Robert E. Cone, Jim Davies, James F. Fitzgerald, Carol Sorenson Flenniken, Beulah Paynter, Edward F. Quaerna.
1992—George Clatworthy, Jerry Davis, Dr. Timothy Paterick, Harold E. Rebholz, Donna Rusch, Johnny Saxer, Fred T. Westphal.
1993—Roy Coyle, Len W. Gersmehl, Jan Hoffman, Carol Luther, Barbara Dietz Mayer, Steve Neece.
1994—Harold Kotwitz, Sharon Dollins Landsee, Frank Rabiola, George Raubacher, Keith Sterk, Robert E. Strampe Jr., Rolland Sultze.
1995—Ronald O. Boyd, Carol Enke, Ross Kingsley, Sam Leete, Fred Townsend.
1996—Mark A. Cullen, William G. Lathrop Sr., Arnold E. Quaerna, Patrick J. Schloemer, Maureen Sheehan.
1997—Ronald W. Fraser, Gary Gloede, Jody Rittenhouse White, Terry Ryan, Brian Steinke.
1998—Dale W. Barry, Dick Hemming, Dan Madden, Charles W. Weber Jr., Susan Von Behren Witte.
1999—William L. Henke, Robert Luchsinger Jr., Richard C. Meier, Nancy K. Russo, Ervin “Jimmy” Johnson.
2000—Lori Kemnitz Bell, Gerald “Jed” Black, Charles Bolton, Joseph Coulter, Stan Fox.
2001—The Rev. David Boyd, John Brodie, Jennah Burkholder Hartwig, Wesley Mayer, Steve Van Galder,
2002—Charles D. Fisher, Lyle G. Gifford, John E. “Jack” Herrington, Camilla L. Owen, Thomas R. Schumacher.
2003—Shane Fleming, Lois A. Gilmore, Lawrence A. Hough, Ralph W. Truesdill, John W. Westphal.
2004—Michael C. Davis, Paul A. Hanewall, Michael Liebenstein Jr., Evelyn Sieg, Chris Weber.
2005—John Bobzien, Tom Carpenter, Roger A. Fenrick, Dan Hauser, Brenda Smith-Beagley.
2006—Richard S. Brodie, Mark Greenhalgh, T. William Schleisner, Kristen Yahr Cope, Daniel T. Kowal.
2007—Walter Burkheimer, Gregg Clatworthy, Lynn Klipstine, Eric Liebenstein, Sam Mylin.
2008—Jayme Anderson, Richlard T. Kingsley, Robb Logterman, Steven C. Nickols and John Thiede.

Tickets for the 2009 induction dinner must be purchased in advance. Their availability and other program details will be announced later.

Last updated: 9:49 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print