O'Leary repeats on AP All-State first team

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Monday, March 16, 2009

Catie O’Leary has shot her way to the top of the state—again.

After averaging 20.9 points a game this season, Janesville Parker High School’s 5-10 senior guard is a first-team pick in The Associated Press All-State girls basketball selections for the second straight year.

O’Leary is joined in the elite group by Grafton senior Sarah Eichler, De Pere senior Adrian Ritchie, Ripon senior Taylor Wurtz and Milwaukee Vincent junior Nicole Griffin. Eichler is the Player of the Year.

“All of them are players I played with or against, and they’re definitely all good players,’’ O’Leary said. “And we all had to work hard to get there.’’

Behind the first five, the AP selections include Verona senior Leslie Schaefer on the fourth team, and honorable mention for Delavan-Darien sophomore Alana Cesarz, Monroe juniors Jamie Armstrong and Ashley Hermanson, and Madison West senior Ellie Pearson.

Cesarz, a 6-2 forward, led Delavan-Darien to a second straight Southern Lakes championship and an 18-4 season. Her 18.9 scoring average, highlighted by a 36-point game, was the state’s second highest among sophomores.

Along with her all-state honors, O’Leary is in line to become Player of the Year in the Big Eight Conference for third straight season, but that has not been announced.

Typical of her junior year, when she was the Division 1 state leader with a 19.4 scoring average, O’Leary again was major offensive force this season. The Loyola of Chicago recruit finished second behind Slinger senior Lindsay Walter (22.8 ppg) among Division 1 state players, while having a career-high 33-point game and topping the 20-point mark 14 times for a 17-6 team that reached the WIAA sectional finals.

O’Leary completed her four-year varsity career with 1,464 points, including 481 this season. The career total places her third on Parker’s all-time list behind Jennah Burkolder Hartwig (2,033) and Mistie Bass Williams (1,906), both of whom also had four-year high school careers and played NCAA Division I college basketball.

“It’s tough to compare players,’’ Parker coach Tom Klawitter said of his all-time standouts. “But when it comes offensive players, Catie’s right up there.’’

In following the Vikings’ success of the Burkholder and Bass years, O’Leary also helped lead Parker to a 76-16 record that included three Big Eight championships and a runner-up finish this season.

“Catie put in the time, doing a lot of work on her own, and made herself the player she is today,’’ Klawitter said. “When she puts her mind to the task, she’s as well-rounded a player as I’ve ever coached.’’

From an opponent’s view, Janesville Craig coach Mark Marsden shares the feeling.

“Catie might be the best player I’ve ever faced because she presents so many problems,’’ he said of O’Leary, who combined an inside game with 45 three-point goals this season and 27 as a junior. “She has NBA (three-point) range, can go to the basket and probably led the state in free-throw attempts.’’

What’s more, Klawitter sees no letup.

“Catie will find success at the next level because she’s a scorer,’’ he said. “And what (collegiate) program doesn’t need that?’’

At the moment, however, Loyola needs a head coach, following Shannon Reidy’s resignation after an 8-21 season, but O’Leary doesn’t expect that to alter her future.

“I’m going to stick with my decision to go there,’’ she said.

AP All-State

Girls Basketball


Hgt. Yr.

Sarah Eichler, Grafton 5-11 Sr.

Adrian Ritchie, De Pere 5-11 Sr.

Taylor Wurtz, Ripon 6-0 Sr.

Catie O’Leary, Janesville Parker 5-10 Sr.

Nicole Griffin, Milw. Vincent 6-6 Jr.


Sarina Simmons, Milw. King 6-1 Sr.

Rachel Story, Milw. King 5-6 Sr.

Kate Glodowski, Amherst 6-0 Sr.

Stephanie Running, Oak Creek 6-2 Sr.

Joanna Bielefeld, Brookfield Central 5-8 Sr.


Sam Hoyt, Durand 5-6 Sr.

Lindsay Walter, Slinger 5-9 Sr.

Rachel Brown, St. Mary Central 5-8 Sr.

Katie Ellerson, Muskego 5-11 Jr.

Katie Raymond, Westfield 5-8 Jr.


Samantha Logic, Racine Case 5-9 So.

Courtney Doucette, Colfax 5-8 Sr.

Leslie Schaefer, Verona 6-4 Sr.

Brittany Buss, Kimberly 6-0 Sr.

Thresia Elskamp, Potosi 5-8 Sr.

Player of the Year—Sarah Eichler, Grafton

Coach of the Year—Bob Maronde, Grafton


Alana Cesarz, Delavan-Darien, soph.; Ellie Pearson, Madison West, SR; Jamie Armstrong, Monroe, jr.; Ashley Hermanson, Monroe, jr.; Kenzie Kolb, Madison Edgewood sr.; Kelsey Budd, Sauk Prairie, jr.; Kristine Fehly, Mukwonago, sr.; Kelly Frings, Milwaukee Pius, jr.; LaKendra Washington, Milwaukee Hope School, sr.; Erin Higgins, Kenosha St. Joseph, sr.; Alex Cohen, Nicolet, soph.; Kelly Brandenburg, Milwaukee DSHA, sr.; Tasha Allen, Milwaukee North, sr.

Keira Al-Mohareb, Whitnall, sr.; Alissa Johnson, Milwaukee South, sr.; Molly Haertle, Oconomowoc, sr.; Megan Wenig, Oshkosh West, sr.; Julie Raeder, Oostburg, jr.; Kelsie Benike, Campbellsport, sr.; Alexis Steward, Sheboygan North, sr.; Lauren Carman, Sheboygan Falls, jr.; Jaimie Kok, Central Wisconsin Christian, jr.; Sam Zastrow, Algoma, sr.; Courtney Buth, Appleton West, sr.; Ashley Barwick, Appleton Xavier, sr.; Kayla Schuh, New London, soph.; Katie Gonnering, Freedom, soph.; Kayla Waddell, Columbus, sr.; Dani Templin, Richland Center, sr.; Ali Wilkinson, Wisconsin Heights, sr.; Paige Butler, South Wayne Black Hawk, sr.; Marieanna Dulas, Markesan, sr.

Mary Kurisch, West Salem, sr.; Michelle Mueller, La Crosse Logan, jr.; Haylea Halverson, La Crosse Aquinas,. sr.; Jordan Blaken, Melrose-Mindoro, sr.; Katey Wrobel, Osseo-Fairchild, sr.; Brittany Gregorich, Altoona, sr.; Sam Price, Eau Claire North, sr.; Taylor Luke, Amery, sr.; Danielle Carlson, Marshfield, sr.; Sam Barber, Schofield D.C. Everest,. sr.; Katie Wolff, Marshfield, sr.; Kelsey Resch, Wittenberg-Birnamwood, sr.; Claire Glodowski, Sr., Amherst, sr.

Last updated: 9:52 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print