Badgers left off first team: Spartans are biggest winners

Print Print
McClatchy Tribune
Tuesday, March 10, 2009
— The streak had to end at some point.

The Big Ten announced its all-conference awards Monday evening and the University of Wisconsin did not have a first-team selection for the first time since the 2000-’01 season.

Senior Marcus Landry was honored as a second-team pick by the coaches and a third-team selection by the writers. Junior Trevon Hughes was a consensus honorable mention pick, and senior Joe Krabbenhoft was an honorable mention choice by the writers.

Landry, a Milwaukee Vincent graduate who averaged a team-high 12.2 points per game in league play, received identical recognition last season. So did Hughes, a Delafield St. John’s graduate who was second on the team at 11.1 points per league game.

Krabbenhoft, who ranked sixth in league play at 6.7 rebounds per game, was an honorable mention pick for the first time but failed to make the all-defensive team after making it last year.

The Badgers were off Monday and unavailable for comment.

Conference champion Michigan State was the big winner. Sophomore guard Kalin Lucas was the consensus player of the year. Coach Tom Izzo was named coach of the year by the coaches. Senior guard Travis Walton was named defensive player of the year.

Spartans senior center Goran Suton was a consensus second-team pick. Sophomore forward Raymar Morgan was a consensus honorable mention selection.

“Maybe to win the Big Ten by four games like we did, somebody must have thought we did something,” Izzo said. “Usually the MVP of a league leads a team somewhere, and that’s why we preach that team goals lead to individual goals.”

Not everyone probably thinks he got his due, though. Here are some of the league’s winners and losers.


Underclassmen: Not only is the entire first team composed of sophomores, but nine of the 15 players on the first three teams, coaches or writers, are sophomores.

Robbie Hummel: The league’s preseason player of the year missed almost a quarter of the conference season for Purdue, but a healthy respect was still shown for his game. The 6-foot-8 forward was a consensus third-team pick after he averaged 10.4 points and 5.6 rebounds per game in Big Ten play.

Ed DeChellis: It’s not easy to win at men’s basketball in Happy Valley, but under DeChellis’ leadership Penn State is on the cusp of its first NCAA tournament berth since 2000-’01. His coach-of-the-year award from the writers was well deserved.

Ohio State: The Buckeyes took home the most hardware outside of Michigan State. Guard William Buford was the league’s freshman of the year and freshman center B.J. Mullens was the league’s sixth man of the year.


Evan Turner: The Buckeyes sophomore was the only unanimous first-team pick on both teams but wasn’t named player of the year. In league play, the 6-7 forward led the Big Ten in scoring (17.3 ppg) and ranked second in assists (4.4) and fourth in rebounding (6.0).

The prognosticators: In October, Hummel, Landry, Morgan, Purdue’s E’Twaun Moore and Michigan’s Manny Harris were named preseason all-conference by a league panel. Only Harris finished that way.

Indiana: Every team in the league received some mention except for the Hoosiers. Their best chance was to place someone on the freshman team. Guard Verdell Jones III, who averaged 11.9 points and 4.3 assists per game, would have been a good choice but getting recognition on a team that went 1-17 in the league is tough.

Last updated: 9:54 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print