Winners named in Battle of Books

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, March 4, 2009
— The Fried Book Worms of St. Paul's Lutheran School won the 25th annual Battle of the Books on Tuesday night at Hedberg Public Library.

The Fried Book Worms members are Emily Ward, Isabelle Caldwell, Trajan Perleberg, Lydia Stiegman and alternate Amanda Nielson.

The runners-up were the Juicy Fruit team, an independent team comprising Alison Langston, Alyssa Brault, Kenady Kjell and Lauren Hoffarth.

Participants were challenged to read 40 books selected by librarians. In competitions, teams had to identify the title and author of the book that answered a question or from which a passage was taken.

Two independent teams and teams from Adams Elementary School and St. Paul's Lutheran School made it to the semifinals in citywide competition Monday.

In the semifinals, the Juicy Fruit team defeated the Adams School Soaring Eagles: Daisy Toloza, Karen Suarez, Raneisha Hudson, Kylie Wright and alternate Alyssa Peterson.

In the other semifinal round, the St. Paul's Fried Book Worms edged out the independent team Reading Rascals: Stephanie Farrey, Megan Heeg, Marie Kasprzak, and Annie Perdue.

In the finals, the Fried Book Worms took the first round with a score of 56-42. But the Juicy Fruit team battled back to win the second round, 56-28.

The Fried Book Worms earned their championship trophies by winning the third round, 63-35.

The Juicy Fruit team received red rosette ribbons for second-place finish. The Reading Rascals and Soaring Eagles received yellow ribbons.

Sponsored by Hedberg Public Library, the Battle of the Books seeks to encourage independent recreational reading.

Last updated: 9:57 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print