Bayreuther, Cashore are all-staters

Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, June 18, 2009

Zach Bayreuther and Derek Cashore head a group of area players who have earned spots among Wisconsin high school baseball’s best.

Bayreuther, Janesville Craig’s senior shortstop, and Cashore, Evansville’s senior catcher, are second-team picks in the Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association all-state selections that were announced today.

Middleton junior pitcher Shane Adler, who went 10-1 and had 0.95 earned-run average for a Big Eight championship team that reached the WIAA Division 1 state semifinals, is on the first team.

Kimberly senior pitcher Brad Schreiber (10-2, 0.62), who was drafted last week by the Milwaukee Brewers, is the Player of the Year.

Madison La Follette senior outfielder Jake Zadra joins Bayreuther and Cashore on the second team.

Seven area players have received honorable mention, including senior pitcher Mike Jacobs and junior infielder Aaron Jones of Beloit Turner. They are joined by Delavan-Darien senior Michael Gonzalez, Clinton junior infielder Zach Wisowaty, Middleton senior outfielder Derek Layton, and Madison Edgewood’s 1-2 punch of senior infielder Robert Parman and senior pitcher Chris Ritter as a utility player.

Bayreuther earned his spot among the elite by hitting .400 and driving in 21 runs for Craig’s 21-6-1 team, which finished second in the Big Eight and earned the school’s first state-tournament berth since 2001. He hit over .600 in the last 11 games, including a three-game stretch in which he went 10-for-11.

Cashore batted .538 in leading Evansville to a tie for the Rock Valley North championship, giving the Blue Devils two straight titles. He has made the all-conference first team all four years of his varsity career, including the last three as a catcher.

Coaches’ All-State Baseball


P—Brad Schreiber, Kimberly, sr., 10-2, 0.62 ERA; Shane Adler, Middleton, jr., 10-1, 0.95.

C—Will Fadness, Eau Claire Memorial, sr., .611.

IF—Kyle McHugh, Rosholt, .613; Taylor Koth, Kettle Moraine Lutheran, sr., .577; Joe Betcher, De Pere, sr., .538; Joel Effert, Ladysmith, sr., .491.

OF—Tyler O’Kane, Prairie du Chien, sr., .549; Shawn Miller, Kenosha Tremper, sr, .461; Dan Gulbransen, Fox Valley Lutheran, sr., .579.

Utility—Lucas Warren, La Crosse Central, sr., .549; 6-2 pitching record, 2.36 ERA.


P—Tyler Hamann, Marathon, sr., 10-1, 2.29 ERA; Luke Cismoski, Hortonville, sr., 10-0, 1.02.

C—Derek Cashore, Evansville, sr., .538.

IF—Zach Bayreuther, Janesville Craig, sr., .430; Sam Koenig, Sauk Prairie, jr., .473; Bobby Juan, La Crosse Central, jr., .437; Jamison Wells, Kimberly, sr., .495.

OF—Jake Zadra, Madison La Follette, sr., .524; Jake Dostalek, Waterford, sr., .614; Trey Demler, Oshkosh West, jr., .453.

Utility—Chase Graskiewicz, Hudson, sr., .392.


P—Jacob Herbst, Park Falls, sr., 8-3, 1.71 ERA; Drew Ghelfi, La Crosse Central, sr., 10-1, 2.13; Luke Christopherson, Waterford, 8-0, 2.18.

C—Michael Jurgella, Stevens Point Pacelli, jr., .537; Mitche Ghelfi, La Crosse Central, soph., .435.

IF—Tyler Tardiff, Mauston, sr., .483; Jordan Stephans, Hartford, sr., .461; Beau Steinke, Brillion, sr., .529; Marty Herum, River Falls, jr., .554.

OF—Ryan Schalow, Stratford, sr., .465; Ryan Ledvina, La Crosse Central, jr., .425; Jon Capasso, Racine Horlick, sr., .543; Trevor Morning, Bloomer, sr., .453; .

Utility—Adam Walker, Milwaukee Lutheran, .434.


P—Lee Vlasek, Pecatonica, 5-1, .0.35 ERA; Connor McElligot, Green Lake, jr., 9-2, 1.75; Mike Jacobs, Beloit Turner, sr., 7-2, 2.89; Tyler Dierke, Hudson, sr., 6-6, 1.19; Dan Hayden, Elk Mound, sr., 12-2, 2.52.

C—Michael Gonzalez, Delavan-Darien, sr., .500; Anthony Lutz, Menasha St. Mary, sr., .500; Eric Ackerman, Algoma, sr., .481.

IF—Michael Handel, Sun Prairie, .397; Robert Parman, Madison Edgewood, sr., .340; Casey Plemon, Park Falls, jr., .532; Cody Reimer, Marion, sr., .525; Mike Parman, Wausau East, sr., .452; Matt Paulsrud, De Soto, .592; Austin Neu, Hustisford/Dodgeland, sr., .527; Aaron Jones, Beloit Turner, jr., .500; Zach Wisowaty, Clinton, jr., .545; Logan Peot, Bay Port, sr., .465; Tyler Brown, Eau Claire North, sr., .452; Cole Zwiefolhofer, Chippewa Falls, .sr., .484.

OF—Derek Layton, Middleton, sr., .345; B.J. Block, Manawa, sr., .500; Kyle O’Leary, Neillsville, sr., .521; Bobby Kachel, La Crosse Aquinas, .427; Mike Hommen, Deerfield, sr., .448; Mikole Pierce, De Pere, jr., .441; Seth Hurt, Eau Claire North, soph., .409; Will Robertson, Eau Claire Memorial, sr., .442.

Utility—Chris Ritter, Madison Edgewood, sr., .462; 6-0 pitching record, 1.30 ERA; Cody Breitzke, Tomahawk, sr., .446, 6-2, 1.70; Nate Spurney, Manitowoc, jr., .443.

Player of the Year—Brad Schreiber, Kimberly.

Coach of the Year—Rick Steffen, Royall; Brad Matzek, Prescott.


(Area Selections)

Ben Heller, Whitewater; Keith Behrend, Madison Memorial; Aaron Nelson, Oregon; Jesse Deininger, Evansville; Mario Minnart, Madison Edgewood; Jake Fadra, Madison La Follette; Steve Winter, Jefferson; Michael Stellmacher, Jefferson; Josh Eastman, Edgerton; Mike Jacobs, Beloit Turner.

Last updated: 10:40 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print