Braun and Fielder added to all-star roster

Print Print
McClatchy Tribune
Monday, July 6, 2009

Considering the explosive 1-2 punch that Ryan Braun and Prince Fielder have formed in the middle of the Milwaukee Brewers’ lineup, it would have been unfair to send one to the All-Star Game without the other.

Now, that won’t happen.

Fielder was added to the National League all-star roster Sunday by Philadelphia manager Charlie Manuel, joining Braun as the Brewers’ representatives in St. Louis. Braun was the leading vote-getter among NL outfielders in fan balloting and becomes the first Milwaukee player to start in consecutive games since Robin Yount in 1982 and ‘83.

There was some sentiment that closer Trevor Hoffman and right-hander Yovani Gallardo deserved nods, but they were bypassed as the NL squad was completed.

This is the second consecutive year that Braun moved from second to first among NL outfielders in the final round of fan voting.

“It’s definitely special,” Braun said. “The fans have been unbelievably supportive of me since I came to Milwaukee.

“It’s also special to have an opportunity to share it with Prince.

Fielder is batting .313 with 22 home runs and ranks among the league leaders with 76 runs batted in, 181 total bases, .433 on-base percentage, .613 slugging percentage, 59 walks and 44 extra-base hits.

Fielder and Braun have combined for 134 RBI, easily the highest total of any pair of teammates in the majors. Braun is batting .326 with 16 home runs and ranks among NL leaders with 58 RBI, 30 multi-hit games, 59 runs scored, 100 hits, 171 total bases, .410 on-base percentage and .561 slugging percentage.

“It’s an honor to get picked to go,” Fielder said. “I’m excited.

“It’s cool. My kids get to go with me and have a good time. It’ll be a lot of fun. That’s what it’s all about, really.

As he did in ’07, Fielder said he’d participate in the Home Run Derby if asked.

Hoffman was left off the squad despite converting 18 of 19 save opportunities, posting a 1.93 earned run average in 24 outings and holding opponents to a .205 average.

Each club must have one representative and closer Francisco Cordero was it for Cincinnati, which didn’t help Hoffman.

Gallardo, 23, ranks sixth among NL starting pitchers with a 2.75 ERA, second with a .193 opponents batting average and third with 114 strikeouts. In 16 starts, Gallardo is 8-5.

with the Brewers’ only complete game.

No pitchers were included on the “Final Vote” ballot for fans, in either league.

“Of course, it was something I was thinking about,” Gallardo said. “In the first half, I think I threw the ball pretty well. You’re always a little bit disappointed but there’s nothing you can do about it.

“Hopefully, there will be a lot more opportunities for me. Maybe next year.”


1969—Mike Hegan (OF), Don Mincher (1B); 1970—Tommy Harper (INF/OF); 1971—Marty Pattin (RHP); 1972—Ellie Rodriguez (C); 1973—Dave May (OF), Jim Colburn (RHP); 1974—Don Money (3B), Darrell Porter (C); 1975—Hank Aaron (OF), George Scott (1B); 1976—Don Money (3B), Bill Travers (LHP); 1977—Don Money (2B), Jim Slaton (RHP); 1978—Don Money (2B), Larry Hisle (OF); 1979—Cecil Cooper (1B).

1980—Paul Molitor (2B), Ben Oglivie (OF), Cecil Cooper (1B), Robin Yount (SS); 1981—Ted Simmons (C), Gorman Thomas (OF), Rollie Fingers (RHP); 1982—Cecil Cooper (1B), Robin Yount (SS), Ben Oglivie (OF), Rollie Fingers (RHP); 1983—Ted Simmons (C), Robin Yount (SS), Cecil Cooper (1B), Ben Oglivie (OF); 1984—Jim Sundberg (C); 1985—Cecil Cooper (1B), Paul Molitor (3B); 1986—Teddy Higuera (LHP); 1987—Dan Plesac (LHP); 1988—Paul Molitor (3B); Dan Plesac (LHP); 1989—Dan Plesac (LHP).

1990—Dave Parker (DH); 1991—Paul Molitor (DH/1B); 1992—Paul Molitor (DH/1B); 1993—Greg Vaughn (OF); 1994—Ricky Bones (RHP); 1995—Kevin Seitzer (3B); 1996—Greg Vaughn (OF); 1997—Jeff Cirillo (3B); 1998—Fernando Vina (2B); 1999—Jeromy Burnitz (OF); Dave Nilsson (C),

2000—Bob Wickman (RHP); 2001—Ben Sheets (RHP); 2002—Jose Hernandez (SS), Richie Sexson (1B); 2003—Geoff Jenkins (OF); Richie Sexson (1B); 2004—Dan Kolb (RHP), Ben Sheets (RHP); 2005—Carlos Lee (OF); 2006—Carlos Lee (OF); Derrick Turnbow (RHP), Chris Capuano (LHP); 2007—Prince Fielder (1B), J.J. Hardy (SS), Ben Sheets (RHP), Francisco Cordero (RHP); 2008—Ryan Braun (OF), Ben Sheets (RHP), Corey Hart (OF); 2009—Ryan Braun (OF), Prince Fielder (1B).

Last updated: 11:00 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print