Delavan-Darien wrestlers make history

Print Print
Gazette staff
Saturday, February 7, 2009
— Delavan-Darien High School not only won its first Southern Lakes Conference wrestling title Saturday, but did it in convincing fashion.

Thanks to individual titles from Jeff Myers and John Benzon, the Comets cruised to the Southern Lakes tournament title with 230 points. Wilmot was second with 181, while Elkhorn was third with 171.

After also finshing on top of the dual standings with a 6-0 mark, the Comets made it a clean sweep with the tournament win as they captured the overall title with 24 points.

“I still think people didn’t think we had the fire to get this done today, even after we won the dual meet title,” Delavan-Darien coach Craig Lodahl said.

“But we came out and had 11 kids finish in the top three, and that’s what we’ve been about all year.

“We’ve been solid from top to bottom.”

Myers got the final round off to a good start for the Comets by winning 103-pound title. He pinned Waterford’s Austin Christenson in 4:27 in the title bout.

Benzon picked up Delavan-Darien’s second individual championship when he won the 145-pound class with 8-2 win over Westosha’s Bill Langford, 8-2.

Elkhorn’s Taylor French, Ryan Slack and Richard Kessler won individual titles to lead the Elks to their third-place finish.

French won the 112-pound division with a hard-fought 4-3 decision over Waterford’s Cody Dolata in the title match.

Slack decisioned Wilmot’s Adam Neal, 10-4, to win the 119-pound title, while Kessler edged Delavan-Darien’s Michael Gonzalez, 3-1, for the 189-pound crown.

Lake Geneva Badger’s John Leibforth won the 130-pound class with an 8-4 win over Delavan-Darien’s Kiefer Bennett.

Southern Lakes

At Waterford High School


Delavan-Darien 230; Wilmot Union 181; Elkhorn 171; Waterford 156; Westosha Central 139.5; Lake Geneva Badger 137; Union Grove 111.


Delavan-Darien 24; Wilmot 18; Elkhorn 16; Waterford 12; Westosha Central 8; Lake Geneva Badger 6; Union Grove 0.


103—Title: Jeff Myers (DD) pinned Austin Christenson (WAT), 4:27. Third: Jose Marquez (LGB) dec. Craig Calzavara (WC), 13-6.

112—Title: Taylor French (ELK) dec. Cody Dolata (WAT), 4-3. Third: Lukus Dittner (DD) dec. Kyle Severt (WIL), 7-3.

119—Title: Ryan Slack (ELK) dec. Adam Neal (WIL), 10-4. Third: Shane Slaasted (UG) dec. Jose Rodriguez (LGB), 13-6.

125—Title: Ryan Gartner (WIL) dec. Peter Stephan (ELK), 8-2. Third: Martin Figueroa (DD) dec. Sean Hein (UG), 10-4.

130—Title: John Leibforth (LGB) dec. Kiefer Bennett (DD), 8-4. Third: Zach Miller (ELK) maj. dec. Scott Dingee (WC), 10-2.

135—Title: Kyle Welzen (WIL) tech. fall Travis Murphy (DD), 18-3. Third: Brandon Robinson (WC) pinned Tim Durkin (ELK), 2:47.

140—Title: Dom Drozek (WC) dec. Mike Olson (WAT), 9-7. Third: Kyndle Bennett (DD) maj. dec. Brenden Mogensen (ELK), 9-1.

145—Title: John Benzon (DD) dec. Bill Langford (WC), 8-2. Third: Ryan Vanderhoof (WIL) dec. matt Teeter (UG), 7-3.

152—Title: Ryan Piccolo (WC) pinned Chris Dittner (DD), 1:03. Third: Kevin Clark (WIL) dec. Clayton Bray (ELK), 5-1.

160—Title: Cole Zimmermann (UG) dec. Ben Lodahl (DD), 3-2. Third: Steve Zamitalo (WAT) maj. dec. Jimmi Waller (LGB), 10-1.

171—Title: Guy Keeku (UG) dec. Tyler Konrad (LGB), 5-3, 2OT. Third; Jeff Dixon (DD) dec. Rick Mellonig (WIL), 13-6.

189—Title: Richard Kessler (ELK) dec. Michael Gonzalez (DD), 3-1. Third: Jake Dostalek (WAT) tech. fall James Huey (WIL), 17-2.

215—Title: Andrew Vozel (WIL) inj. default Bernie Tamsett (WAT). Third: Donte Blackburn (ELK) dec. Brandan Allen (LGB), 5-1.

275—Title: Marshall Rutherford (WAT) dec. Austin Crenshaw (WC), 9-3. Third: Joe Cychner (LGB) inj. default Dustin Edmonds (WIL).

Last updated: 9:42 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print