Furseth takes home Badger State title

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, December 24, 2009
— Stoughton High won the team title, but Janesville Craig junior Siven Furseth stole the show here Wednesday night in the Badger State Wrestling Invitational.

Furseth pushed his season record to 12-0 by whipping Stoughton senior Ben Hite, 14-1, for the 130-pound championship at the Alliant Energy Center and was named the 18-school meet's outstanding wrestler.

"He really put on a show," Craig coach Jeff Kaster said of Furseth's major decision. "He gave the guy a good takedown clinic.

"The other guy (Hite) was really good. Siven was just that much better."

After getting first-round bye, Furseth pinned Oak Creek junior Matt Hampson in 41 seconds in the quarterfinals, then got a 7-0 decision over Sparta sophomore Toby Mosley in the semifinals.

Meanwhile, Craig had four others reach the medal stand. Jamie Kumlien took third with 13-2 major decision in the 119-pound finals, Chris Pierce was fifth with a 7-2 decision at 135, and Drillon Grajcevci at 189 and Mike Spaulding at 215 each placed sixth.

"We still have a few more steps to take to get the next level,'' Kaster said, "but to get that many guys to the medal stand is good.''

Alex Hauri took third at 103, and Derek Gerber was fourth at 140 in also making it a good day for Orfordville Parkview.

Stoughton was a decisive winner in team competition with 208 points. Franklin took second with 156.5, and Craig was 10th with 89.

Badger State Invitational

At Alliant Energy Center, Madison


Stoughton 208, Franklin 156.5, Iowa Grant 152.5, Sparta 151, Oak Creek 148, Campbellsport 130, Sauk Prairie 126, West Bend West 117, Brookfield Central 93, Janesville Craig 89, Sun Prairie 84, Waterford 79, Westosha Central 67, Menomonee Falls 61, Waukesha South 47, Orfordville/Parkview 35, Madison Lafollette 9, Oneida Nation 0.


103—Title: Ryan Costello (Campbellsport) pinned Tim Cho (Westosha Central), :24. Third: Alex Hauri (Orfordville Parkview) dec. Devon McCune (Stoughton), 6-1. Fifth: Tucker Sarbacker (Iowa-Grant) pinned Bill Prochniewski (Waukesha South), 2:11.

112—Title: Nick Urso (Stoughton) dec. Austin Christenson (Waterford), 7-2. Third: Parker Peterson (Campbellsport) pinnedSeth LaBodda (Oak Creek), 1:39. Fifth: Sam Tyczkowski (Franklin) dec. Adam Wiedl (Sparta), 7-2.

119—Title: Sam Kortes (Franklin) major dec. over Mike Miller (Sauk Prairie), 11-1. Third: Jamie Kumlien (Janesville Craig) major dec. over Justin Theriault (West Bend West), 13-2. Fifth: Brandon Rickert (Sparta) dec. Kody Azarian (Waterford), 2-1 (2 OT).

125—Title: Matt Blower (Oak Creek) dec. Colin DeClark (Franklin), 12-8. Third: Jacob Yelinek (Iowa-Grant) pinned Brandon Jazdzewski (Sun Prairie), 4:22. Fifth: Cody Dolata (Waterford) pinned Chet Floyd (Campbellsport), 4:58.

130—Title: Siven Furseth (Janesville Craig) major dec. over Ben Hite (Stoughton), 14-1. Third: Toby Mosley (Sparta) pinned Brandon Fredrick (Waterford), 1:28. Fifth: Rashaun Sparks (Campbellsport) pinned Matt Hampson (Oak Creek), 2:44.

135—Title: David Cabral (Franklin) dec. Nick Hite (Stoughton), 4-0. Third: Chase Stiener (Sun Prairie) dec. Jeremiah Butler (Oak Creek), 12-7. Fifth: Chris Pierce (Janesville Craig) dec. Dylan Slotty (Sauk Prairie), 7-2.

140—Title: Jackson Urso (Stoughton) pinned Logan Bollant (Iowa-Grant), 3:59. Third: Jared Schaaf (Sauk Prairie) pinned Derek Gerber (Orfordville Parkview), 2:31. Fifth: Gunner Melstrand (West Bend West) dec. Chris Clapper (Franklin), 7-1.

145—Title: Austin Wersal (Stoughton) pinned Keith Day (Brookfield Central), 3:21. Third: Bill Langford (Westosha Central) major dec. over Thomas Seiler (Sauk Prairie), 13-2. Fifth: Kyle Johnson (Waukesha South) major dec. over Dusty Adamson (Sun Prairie), 10-0.

152—Title: Tyler Veling (Brookfield Central) pinned Morgan Leis (Sparta), 1:52. Third: Payden Salm (Campbellsport) dec. Garrett McNeely (Sauk Prairie), 7-1. Fifth: Blake Welu (Iowa-Grant) pinned Greg Krantz (Stoughton), 3:26.

160—Title: Collin Enstad (Sun Prairie) dec. Pat Sanders (West Bend West), 8-2. Third: Kyle Smith (Franklin) pinned Josh Regazzi (Oak Creek), 2:53. Fifth: Austin Cook (Iowa-Grant) dec. Tom Tourdot (Sparta), 5-1.

171—Title: Ben Wiersma (Sauk Prairie) dec. Mitch Dolan (Oak Creek), 9-4. Third: James Hawley (Campbellsport) dec. Korey Kleinhans (Menomonee Falls), 6-5 (2 OT). Fifth: Brandon Brueggen (Sparta) pinned Dillon Dewey (Stoughton), 1:39.

189—Title: Eric Nelson (Stoughton) dec. Kyle Wey (Oak Creek), 5-4. Third: Zach Wetzel (Campbellsport) won by injury default over James Wixom (Sauk Prairie. Fifth: Jordan Stanek (Sparta) dec. Drillon Grajcevci (Janesville Craig), 7-1.

215—Title: Matt Tourdot (Sparta) pinned Steve Sizer (West Bend West), 1:39. Third: Bryant Edge (Iowa-Grant) pinned Tony Guagliardo (Menomonee Falls), 1:23. Fifth: Jordan Herrman (Franklin) dec. Mike Spaulding (Janesville Craig), 5-4.

285—Title: Bryce Gilbert (Brookfield Central) pinned Ethan Welsh (Iowa-Grant), 2:43. Third: Tyler Bross (Menomonee Falls) dec. Brendan Butler (Franklin), 4-2. Fifth: Ben Egan (Stoughton) pinned Eric Gonwa (Campbellsport), 1:59.

Last updated: 12:05 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print