Vikings simply overpowering against Purple Knights

Print Print
Wednesday, December 2, 2009
— Tuesday night’s battle for Big Eight Conference wrestling supremacy between Beloit Memorial and Janesville Parker never materialized.

The Vikings were too good, and the Purple Knights were too shorthanded.

Parker registered five pins and received six forfeits en route to a 71-12 dismantling in the conference and season opener for both teams.

Although the two teams have battled to the end the last two years, it was all Parker this time. The defending conference tournament champions jumped out to a 12-0 lead behind back-to-back pins from Josh Lindaas and Alex Perkins, and they led 36-12 when Cody Colson flattened Steve Berry at 1:29 in the 285-pound bout.

“It was a great way to start the season,” said Parker’s Ron Cramer, now in his 30th year as head coach of what has been the league’s dominant program. “But it’s only one meet. We’ve haven’t won anything yet, and there’s a lot of season left.”

Also picking up pins for the Vikings were senior Anthony Cooper at 171 pounds and senior Evan Cavey at 130.

Parker junior Brennan Casey-Schmidt made quick work of Pierce Andrews at 125, winning by technicall fall,


Beloit got its only two wins on pins from Dustin Carratt at 152 and Alex Polizzi at 215. Polizzi, a Northwestern University recruit, finished second in 1 at 215.

Beloit coach Jason Gladowski was making no excuses afterward, despite basically trailing 36-0 before the match even started—thanks to six forfeits.

“Beyond belief,” Gladowski said of his frustration over fielding only eight wrestlers in 14 weight classes. “We had some guys let us down with grades, and some others with stupid suspensions.

“We’ve got some promising guys that I think can help us out, but it’s on them.”

The Vikings will host the Parker Duals on Friday night.


103—Austin Gonzalez (JP) won by forfeit. 112—Haley Hedgecock (JP) won by forfeit. 119—Adam Cavey (JP) won by forfeit. 125—Brennan Casey-Schmidt (JP) won by tech. fall over Pierce Andrews, 15-0. 130—Evan Cavey (JP) pinned Marco Chavez, 1:21. 135—Travis Rucinski (JP) won by forfeit. 140—Josh Lindaas (JP) pinned Chaz Champion, 4:55.

145—Alex Perkins (JP) pinned Josh Swedlund, 3:17. 152—Dustin Carratt (BM) pinned Luke Turner, 1:36. 160—Lucas Comstock (JP) won by forfeit. 171—Anthony Cooper (JP) pinned Brady Gould, 1:27. 189—Aaron Polzin (JP) won by forfeit. 215—Alex Polizzi (BM) pinned Nick Ackerman, 1:57. 285—Cody Colson (JP) pinned Steve Berry, 1:29.

Last updated: 12:16 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print