Craig cross country teams return to state

Share on Facebook Print Print
Gazette Staff
October 27, 2008
— The good times roll on for the Janesville Craig High cross country teams

The Cougar girls team dominated the Stoughton Sectional field to win the meet title and earn its eighth straight berth in the WIAA state championship meet next Saturday.

The Craig boys squad also rolled to the team sectional to earn its fourth straight state title berth.

The girls outdistanced runnerup Oconomowoc, 37-97. The Craig boys defeated surprise runnerup Milton, 34-90. The Milton boys team also earned a trip to the state meet next week at Wisconsin Rapids.

“This is a special accomplishment,” Craig coach Brian Lawton said of his teams’ state streaks. “It’s a testament to how good the kids are and how hard they work.”

Three Craig girls finished in the top five. Cassidi Running finished second to Stoughton’s Kiah Ehrke. Ehrke finished the 4,000-meter course in 14:54, with Running second at 15:25.

Cougar sophomore Rachel Gilmore was third in 15:31. Junior Megan Muhs was fifth in 15:42. Craig’s Stephani Perleberg, Jessie Finnane and Katie Bagley came in 12th, 15th and 16th, respectively.

“The girls kind of got pinched off by two teams at the start of the race,” Lawton said. “We were farther back and we anticipated. But they were at the right position at the mile mark or maybe even ahead of it, and we hung on.”

Fort Atkinson senior Spencer Agnew won the boys 5,000-meter race in 16:05. This is the fourth straight year Agnew has qualified for state.

Craig senior Ryan Ahrens was second in 16:29, and several teammates followed close behind.

Freshman Tommy Meister was fourth in 16:56, junior Matt Bordwell was sixth in 17:12 and senior Garrick Jannene was seventh in 17:14. Craig senior Jason Ruchti finished 15th in 17:44.

“The boys ran a nice conservative race,” Lawton said. “We went out a little fast last week and we talked about that. They did a great job today.”

Ahrens became the first runner in Craig school history to qualify for four state meets.

“We’ve had a lot of great Craig runners, so that is a great accomplishment for him,” Lawton said.

Stoughton Sectional



Janesville Craig 37, Oconomowoc 97, Fort Atkinson 120, Oregon 129, Watertown 133, Stoughton 136, Janesville Parker 157, Burlington 186, Lake Geneva Badger 192, Milton 256, Elkhorn 270, Beloit Memorial 342.


(4,000 meters)

1. Kiah Ehrke (Stoughton), 14:54; 2. Cassidi Running (Craig), 15:25; 3. Rachel Gilmore (Craig), 6:15; 4. Micaela Magsamen (Fort), 15:35; 5. Megan Muhs (Craig), 15:42; 6. Mandy Prom (Oconomowoc), 15:44; 7. Katryna Williams (Watertown), 15:44; 8. Catie Grandi (Burlington), 15:44; 9. Morgan Engelhart (Oregon), 15:47; 10. Annie Heifner (Oregon), 15:54.

11. Brooke King (Parker), 15:58; 12. Stephani Perleberg (Craig), 16:00; 13. Taylor Bauer (Fort), 16:08; 14. Courtney Lanza (Fort), 16:09; 15. Jessie Finnane (Craig), 16:15; 16. Katie Bagley (Craig), 16:18; 17. Hannah Heidvogel (Oconomowoc), 16:22; 18. Kali Jahn (Oregon), 16:27; 19. Regina Griffith (Craig), 16:31; 20. Catie O’Leary (Parker), 16:33.

n Other Parker finishers: 27. Nicki Bakke, 16:43; 46. Erica Heitsman, 17:21; 53. Sadie Johnson, 17:37.

n Top Milton finisher: 41. Angela Gauger, 17:09.

n Top Elkhorn finisher: 66. Maddy Crum, 18:12.



Janesville Craig 34, Milton 90, Fort Atkinson 102, Lake Geneva Badger 130, Stoughton 147, Janesville Parker 156, Watertown 176, Elkhorn 180, Oconomowoc 195, Oregon 245, Burlington 273, Beloit Memorial 353.


(5,000 meters)

1. Spencer Agnew (Fort Atkinson), 16:05; 2. Ryan Ahrens (Craig), 16:29; 3. Zach Krause (Badger), 5:25; 4. Tommy Meister (Craig), 16:56; 5. Dan Sullivan (Elkhorn), 17:08; 6. Matt Bordwell (Craig), 17:12; 7. Garrick Jannene (Craig), 16:48; 8. Zach Adams (Badger), 17:19; 9. Jacob Brown (Milton), 17:19; 10. Matt Mixdorf (Oregon), 17:23.

11. Riley Olson (Stoughton), 17:24; 12. Taran Kobs (Parker), 17:37; 23. Michael Roherty (Milton), 17:37; 14. Kevin Fallon (Burlington), 17:40; 15. Jason Ruchti (Craig), 17:44; 16. Jacob Butts (Watertown), 17:48; 17. Spencer McCombs (Fort Atkinson), 17:49; 18. Jake Tonstad (Stoughton), 17:50; 19. Joe Haske (Milton), 17:51; 20. Jacob Enslin (Fort Atkinson), 17:52.

n Other Parker finishers: 27. Ryan Riley, 18:05; 35. Duncan Brose, 18:17; 52. Alex Little, 18:36; 63. Cody Speaker, 19:16.

Share on Facebook Print Print