Local farmers eligible for disaster assistance

Print Print
Beth Wheelock
Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Local farmers are receiving help from the federal government.

Governor Jim Doyle says the USDA has approved his request for disaster declarations in counties affected by spring flooding and winter frost. Rock, Dane, Jefferson and Walworth are among the 24 primary counties eligible through the flood designation. Green County is eligible through the combined effects of frost, freeze and extreme cold. The declarations could help farmers receive low interest loans and other assistance. Land owners in the affected counties should call the USDA Wisconsin State Farm Service Agency at 608-662-4422 for more information.

Last updated: 10:40 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print