Evansville joins state partnership

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, October 9, 2008
— Evansville is among 12 cities that Gov. Jim Doyle and the state Office of Energy Independence welcomed as new members on Wednesday into the Wisconsin Energy Independent Community Partnership.

The communities have committed to helping achieve Doyle’s energy independence in Wisconsin and working toward generating 25 percent of the state’s electricity and transportation fuels from renewable resources by the year 2025.

Evansville joins Columbus, Kaukauna, Lodi, Muscoda, New Richmond, Plymouth, River Falls, Stoughton, Waunakee, Waupun and Westby in the partnership.

The Energy Independent Community Partnership is the first of its kind in the nation and is part of Doyle’s goal for the state to become the nation’s leader in the drive toward energy independence.

As part of the partnership, communities may receive additional access to state and federal funding and technical assistance from state and federal agencies.

Last updated: 10:45 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print