This time Towns challenges Hixson

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, July 9, 2008

The battle for control of Wisconsinís Assembly will include a local rematch that was settled by a tiny margin two years ago.

Republican Debi Towns, 7930 N. Eagle Road, rural Janesville, announced in January she would challenge incumbent Democrat Kim Hixson, 327 S. Woodland Drive, Whitewater, for the 43rd Assembly District seat.

In 2006, the roles were reversed: Challenger Hixson squeaked past four-year incumbent Towns by 38 votes after a month-long recount.

Towns is an educator, dairy farmer and former Edgerton School Board member. Hixson is on leave from his associate professor position at UW-Whitewater and is a former Whitewater City Council member.

The Republicans now control the Assembly, but by only five seats.

The 43rd District includes much of western and northern Rock County, excluding the Evansville area, and Whitewater and Whitewater Township in Walworth County.

Other local races that voters will decide at the same time as they vote for president on Nov. 4:

31st Assembly District

-- Steve Nass, N8330 Jackson Road, LaGrange Township, incumbent Republican.

-- Frank E. Urban, W277 Northey Road, Dousman, Democrat.

32nd Assembly District

-- John K. Finley, 201 W. Washington St., Delavan, independent.

-- Doug A Harrod, W1815 County B, Genoa City, Democrat.

-- Thomas A. Lothian, 539 Park Ridge Road, Williams Bay, incumbent Republican.

43rd Assembly District

-- Kim Hixson, 327 S. Woodland Drive, Whitewater, incumbent Democrat.

-- Debi Towns, 7930 N. Eagle Road, Janesville, Republican.

44th Assembly District

-- Mike Sheridan of Janesville, incumbent Democrat, unopposed.

45th Assembly District

-- Chuck Benedict, 3639 Bee Lane, Beloit, incumbent Democrat.

-- Mike Hahn, 430 Harrison Ave., Beloit, Republican.

80th Assembly District

-- Brett Davis, 1420 Raven Oaks Trail, Oregon, incumbent Republican.

-- John Waelti, 1800 21st Ave., Monroe, Democrat

-- Kristin Wisnefske, W4634 Richland Road, Monroe, Democrat.

The primary election is on Sept. 9.

Opponents are lacking in most county races this fall:

Rock County Clerk

-- Lori Stottler, 218 S. Harmony Drive, Janesville, incumbent Democrat, unopposed.

Rock County Treasurer

-- Vicki Brown, 5504 W. Fenrick Road, Janesville Township, incumbent Democrat, unopposed.

Rock County Register of Deeds

-- Randal Leyes, 3654 Candlewood Drive, Janesville, incumbent Republican, unopposed.

Rock County District Attorney

-- David OíLeary, 2930 Yale Drive, Janesville, incumbent Democrat, unopposed.

Walworth County Clerk

-- Kim S. Bushey, W5042 Farm Village Lane, Elkhorn, incumbent Republican, unopposed.

Walworth County Treasurer

-- Kathy Du Bois, N6225 Evergreen Drive, Elkhorn, Republican.

-- Kristen L. Zerbach, 131 N. Cranberry St., Elkhorn, independent.

Walworth County Register of Deeds

-- Connie J. Woolever, W5066 Paddock Drive, Elkhorn, incumbent Republican, unopposed.

Walworth County District Attorney

-- Phil A. Koss, 120 N. Wisconsin St., Elkhorn, incumbent Republican, unopposed.

Last updated: 9:50 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print