Parker, Craig wrestlers take home tournament titles

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Saturday, January 19, 2008

Five individual champions carried Janesville Craig’s wrestling team to the Monroe Invitational title Saturday.

Led by unbeaten 103-pounder Siven Furseth, Craig High scored 179 points to win the nine-team tournament. Darlington was second with 148, and Clinton was third with 146.

Furseth improved to 24-0 by winning the 103-pound title, but he was pushed for the first time this season. The freshman decisioned Devin Malott of Darlington, 3-2 in overtime, in the title bout.

“103 was by far the toughest weight class in this tournament,” Craig coach Jeff Kaster. “Siven beat kids who were second-ranked in the state and fifth-ranked.”

Freshman Jamie Kumlien continued his strong season for Craig at 112 pounds by winning his weight class Saturday. Kumlien held off Robert Dimery of Orfordville Parkview, 16-11, in the title match.

“Jamie really had a strong tournament,” Kaster said. “He’s getting better each week for us.”

Other champions for Craig were Trevor Gregoire at 171, Blair Kessler at 189 and Alex Burdick at 215.

Clinton got back-to-back titles from Brad Hesebeck and Brian Banh at 119 and 125 pounds, respectively, while Walworth Big Foot’s Clay McCullough was the champion at 152.

Craig will wrap up the Big Eight Conference dual meet season on Tuesday at home against Madison La Follette.

Monroe Invitational


Janesville Craig 179, Darlington 148, Clinton 146, Monroe 119.5, Cuba City 109, Lake Geneva Badger 106, Belmont-Platteville 95, Walworth-Big Foot 87.5, Orfordville-Parkview 75.5.


103—Title: Siven Furseth (JC) dec. Devin Malott (Dar), 3-2, OT; Third: Gavin Wels (Mon) dec. Daniel Banh (Cli), 9-1.

112—Title: Jamie Kumlien (JC) dec. Robert Dimery (OP), 16-11; Third: Chad Allen (B/P) pinned Seth Endres (Dar), 4:32.

119—Title: Brad Hesebeck (Cl) dec. Jose Rodriguez (LGB), 9-7; Third: Kyle Arthofer (CC) dec. Travis Davis (JC), 5-2.

125—Title: Brian Banh (Cl) dec. Isaiah Goebel (Dar), 7-0; Third: Kirby Lavariega (WBF) dec. Dillon Schmeider (CC), 6-3.

130—Title: Luke Wiegman (CC) dec. John Leibforth (LGB), 7-0; Third: Troy Davis (JC) dec. Jordan Gilbertson (Mon), 6-4.

135—Title: Kyle Crooks (CC) dec. Andy Sanchez (Cl), 7-6; Third: Mason Goff (Mon) pinned Brittan Crumbliss (LGB), 1:29.

140—Title: Casey Goffinet (B/P) pinned Kyle Klopfenstein (Mon), 3:49; Third: Ethan Andre (OP) dec. Jess Lininger (LGB), 6-4.

145—Title: Dylan McGuire (Dar) dec. Ben Neal (OP), 9-2; Third: Travis Brown (WBF) pinned Ian Kopp (JC), 2:53.

152—Title: Clay McCollough (WBF) tech. fall over Shane Brandl (Cl), 16-1; Third: Jeremy Graham (OP) pinned Sean Cronin (Dar), 2:41.

160—Title: Kevin Weigel (B/P) dec. Colton Hackett (Dar), 5-1; Third: Patrick Bussey (WBF) dec. Jimmi Waller (LGB), 10-2.

171—Title: Trevor Gregoire (JC) dec. Bruce King (Dar), 9-1; Third: Dillon Weckerly (Mon) pinned Tyler Konrad (LGB), 2:52.

189—Title: Blair Kessler (JC) dec. Logan Taylor (Dar), 7-5; Third: Josh Danielson (Cl) dec. Bryant Schobert (B/P), 7-3.

215—Title: Alex Burdick (JC) pinned Ben Haeberlin (WBF), 2:39; Third: Kyle Jones (Cl) dec. Mark Brugger (Dar), 1-0.

285—Title: Andy Blood (LGB) dec. Boyd Maske (JC), 7-5; Third: Austin McCarthy (CC) pinned Lucas Turber (B/P), 1:00.

Parker wins Dells Invitational

Four individual champions carried Janesville Parker’s wrestlers to the eight-team Wisconsin Dells Invitational title Saturday.

The Vikings, behind the 1-2 punch of Brennan Casey-Schmidt and Ryan Holden at 103 and 112 pounds, scored 228 points. Campbellsport was second with 189 and Viroqua third with 188.

Casey-Schmidt and Holden, both state-ranked, easily won their weight classes. Casey-Schmidt, a freshman, improved to 18-2 thanks to a 17-1 win over Parker Junior Varsity wrestler Ryan Riley in the title bout.

Holden ran his unbeaten record to 20-0 by pinning Jesse Sheldon of Viroqua in the title bout.

The other two champions for Parker were seniors Lewis Lobrano at 171 and Cameron Hanson at 189.

Parker’s Harold Lloyd, who is ranked seventh in the state at 285 pounds, did not compete. Lloyd is on an official college football recruiting visit.

Wisconsin Dells



Janesville Parker 228, Campbellsport 189, Viroqua 188, Waunakee 182, Wisconsin Dells 109, Janesville Parker JV 91, Pecatonica/Argyle 78, Princeton 49.


103—Title: Brennan Casey-Schmidt (JP) tech. fall over Ryan Riley (JPJV), 17-1; Third: Nick Mor (WD) dec. Parker Peterson (Cam), 4-0.

112—Title: Ryan Holden (JP) pinned Jesse Sheldon (V), 3:29; Third: Kate Perkins (JPJV) dec. Randy Clemens (W), 9-6.

119—Title: Justin Karls (W) pinned Evan Cavey (JP), 1:36; Third: Alex Perkins (JPJV) dec. Trevor Sheldon (V), 7-3.

125—Title: Casey Krahenbuhl (P/A) dec. Sndrew Strachan (V), 5-3; Third: Jason Nolden (W) dec. Tommy Beck (Cam), 11-7.

130—Title: Casey Frederick (W) won by injury default over Jake Reilly (WR); Third: Travis Rucinski (JP) dec. Derek Sipel (Cam), 9-0.

135—Title: Codi Wilch (Cam) dec. Skylar Liebzeist (WD), 18-7; Third: Peter Ripp (W) pinned Cody St. Michael (JP), 3:00.

140—Title: Jed Domke (V) dec. Alex Folk (JP), 6-4; Third: Payden Salm (Cam) dec. T.J. Williams (WD), 8-7.

145—Title: Jake Gregerson (WD) pinned Joe Ramirez (JP), 4:00; Third: Jared McClelland (V) pinned Cameron Todd (P/A), 2:05.

152—Title: Brandon Henry (V) dec. Wes Bengel (Cam), 9-3; Third: Riley Sigg (P/A) pinned Jacob Bailey (JP), 4:06.

160—Title: Jon Hoffman (Pri) dec. David Arndt (JP), 8-7, OT; Third: James Hawley (Cam) pinned Ben Koning (JPJV), 2:04.

171—Title: Lewis Lobrano (JP) dec. Jarred Lindsley (Cam), 17-6; Third: Dylan Hoiland (V) pinned Taylor Trickel (W), 1:54.

189—Title: Cameron Hanson (JP) pinned Zach Wetzel (Cam), 1:27; Third: Alex Fetting (JPJV) pinned Brandon barnes (P/A), 3:35.

215—Title: Billy Mayer (Cam) pinned Mike Pittz (P/A), 4:47; Third: Jake Irwin (WD) dec. Matt Houchin (JP), 6-1.

285—Title: Taylor Henry (V) dec. Nick Endres (Wau), 6-5; Third: Kit Conrad (WD) pinned Kevin Lehr (JP), :40.

Last updated: 1:40 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print