Parker wrestlers second at Elkhorn

Print Print
Gazette Staff
January 12, 2008
— Led by three individual champions, Janesville Parker’s wrestling team finished Saturday second in in the Elk Invitational at Elkhorn High School.

The host Elks, led by five individual champions, won the nine-team tournament with 232 points. Parker followed with 193, and Beloit Memorial was third with 148.5.

Ryan Holden again led Parker. The senior improved to 16-0 for the season by winning the 112-pound class. Holden pinned all three of his opponents, including Elkhorn’s Peter Stephan in the title match.

Freshman Brennan Casey-Schmidt and senior Harold Lloyd also won titles for the Vikings.

Casey-Schmidt won technical fall over Homestead’s Jason Findling, 15-0, to win the 103-pound class. Lloyd improved to 15-1 by defeating Lake Geneva Badger’s Andy Blood, 2-0, to win the 285-pound title.

Ryan Slack (119), Nick Nienas (130), Jeremiah Potter (140), Richard Kessler (160) and Lee Hoskins (189) won individual titles to lead Elkhorn.

Brodhead-Juda’s Tyler Lincoln won the 135-pound title to improve to 22-1 on the season.

Elk Invitational


Elkhorn 232, Janesville Parker 193, Beloit Memorial 148.5, Burlington 140, Lake Geneva Badger 131.5, Brodhead-Juda 117.5, Homestead 101.5, Brookfield Central 97, Milwaukee King 22.


103—Title: Brennan Casey-Schmidt (JP) tech. fall over Jason Findling (Hom), 15-0; Third; Chad Ehlen (Bur) dec. Dillon Woollums (Br), 8-1.

112—Title: Ryan Holden (JP) pinned Peter Stephan (Elk), 3:12; Third: Michael Wiesenberg (Bro) pinned Dane Hocken (BC), 2:53.

119—Title: Ryan Slack (Elk) dec. Evan Cavey (JP), 5-2; Third: Jose Rodriguez (LGB) dec. Jeremy Rosheisen (Bro), 18-14.

125—Title: Geoff Hilt (Hom) major dec. over Dustin Rucinski (JP), 13-0; Third: Zach Miller (Elk) pinned Tyler Wilson (BM), 4:31.

130—Title: Nick Nienas (Elk) pinned John Leibforth (LGB), 1:42; Third: Nick Jazdzewski (Bur) dec. Kyle Berner (BM), 10-9.

135—Title: Tyler Lincoln (Brod) pinned Tim Durkin (Elk), 1:57; Third: Brittan Crumbliss (LGB) pinned Jeremy Patton (Hom), :43.

140—Title: Jeremiah Potter (Elk) pinned Alex Folk (JP), 5:29; Third: Connor Rice (Bur) pinned Dryden Holmes (BC), 1:48.

145—Title: Tyler Heck (Bur) dec. Edgar Vizcarra (King), 10-2; Third: Zach Mogensen (Elk) dec. Jose De La Barrera (BM), 8-6.

152—Title: Jesse Dobbs (Bur) dec. Tyler French (Elk), 3-0; Third: Kurtis LeMieux of (LGB) dec. Ryan McCarville (Brod), 9-7.

160—Title: Richard Kessler (Elk) dec. Jesse Swedlund (BM), 7-3; Third: Grant Daniels (Bur) dec. David Arndt (JP), 6-3.

171—Title: Levi Disch (BM) pinned Nick Fleischman (Hom), 3:41; Third: Lewis Lobrano (JP) pinned Tyler Konrad (LGB), :38.

189—Title: Lee Hoskins (Elk) dec. Kenneth Millner (BM), 8-5; Third: Cameron Hanson (JP) major dec. over Brandon Allen (LGB), 12-3.

215—Title: Alex Polizzi (BM) dec. Jake Taylor (BC), 13-6.; Third: Derek Jazdzewski (Bur) dec. Robert Gunther (Hom), 5-2.

285—Title: Harold Lloyd (JP) dec. Andy Blood (LGB), 2-0; Third: Richie Smeltzer (BC) injury default over Kyle Hayden (BM).

Print Print