Friday deadline set for county board seat

Print Print
Sunday, January 6, 2008
— Evansville area residents have until 5 p.m. Friday to submit a letter of interest to fill the District 1 vacancy on the Rock County Board.

Board Chairman Richard Ott, with approval from the county board, will appoint a person to fill the rest of Supervisor Steve Eager’s position, which is up for election in April. Eager resigned in December.

The county board will vote to confirm the appointed person at its Jan. 24 meeting.

District 1 includes the city of Evansville and Ward 1 in the town of Union. Town of Union Ward 1 covers the area to the south and west of Highway 14, as well as an area between Highway 14 and Cemetery Road, south of Bullard Road. Ward 1 includes an area to the east of Highway 14 bounded by the Dane County line, Highway 59 and Franklin Road.

Janis Ringhand, 412 Fowler Circle, Evansville, and Art Phillips, 335 W. Main St., Evansville, have filed papers to run for the seat in the April election. So far just Ringhand has sent a letter of interest to fill the vacancy, according to county officials.

Ringhand, a former Evansville mayor and councilwoman, said she’d been approached years ago to run, but now is the right time.

“It was a good time to run,” Ringhand said. “I think we need greater communication between the county and the communities within the county.”


Individuals interested in being considered for appointment to represent District 1 on the Rock County Board have until 5 p.m. Friday to send a letter listing their qualifications and expressing why they want to be a county board supervisor to:

Richard K. Ott, Chair, County Board of Supervisors, Rock County Courthouse, 51 S. Main St., Janesville, WI 53545.

Last updated: 2:56 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print