Eight county seats will be contested

Print Print
Thursday, January 3, 2008
— Competition for a spot on the Rock County Board will be all over the map this spring.

No one is running for a seat in Beloit, but a primary will be held for a seat on Janesvilleís near west side.

Itís hard to say whatís inspiring 16 new candidates to run for seats on the board, said Chairman Richard Ott. Eight seats are contested, and 15 incumbents are running unopposed.

The board has 29 seats.

No one is running for Anna Marie Johnsonís seat in the 13th District, which lies between Shopiere Road and the Rock River close to downtown Beloit. Because Johnson did not file a declaration of non-candidacy, the filing deadline for that district has been extended until 5 p.m. Monday.

In Janesville, residents will vote in a primary in the 18th District, which is between Riverside Golf Course and Mineral Point Avenue with just a few blocks on the east side of the Rock River.

Charles Elliot, who was elected in 2002, is stepping down from the 18th, and Jim Bahler, Josh Mittness-Buol and Ronald Combs will compete for the seat.

Ott hasnít heard of one hot-button issue, but heís pleased to see competition in this springís election. Ott narrowly missed having his first primary since he was elected in 1988.

Residents Nathan Nelson and Stephen Flood took out nomination papers in the 23rd, but only Flood turned them in. The 23rd District includes the city of Janesville and part of Harmony Township between Milwaukee Street and Highway 14.

Ott said the location of the Rock County 4-H Fairgrounds is off the radar, but the future jail expansion and the possibility of a new or expanded county nursing home could be issues for candidates.

Maybe itís last summerís decision to change the elected position of county coroner to an appointed medical examiner, he said, although he hasnít heard any specific discussions about it.

The vote narrowly passed and would go into effect in 2011 when Coroner Jenifer Keachís current term ends.

But a new board could bring a new and opposite resolution to vote, he said.

Along with Elliot, Stephen Eager, William Agnew, Brad Adee, Wayne Moody and Neil Deupree have declared non-candidacies.

Incumbent Lynette Kepplinger, 831 Park Ave., Beloit, had not declared non-candidacy by 5 p.m. Wednesday, but she told The Janesville Gazette she would not run.

Because she has not filed papers, the deadline in the 15th District will be extended until 5 p.m. Monday.

Robert Fizzell, 622 Harrison Ave., Beloit, has turned in nomination papers in the 15th.

Contested seats include:

-- District 1: Janis Ringhand, 412 Fowler Circle, Evansville, and Arthur E. Phillips, 335 W. Main St., Evansville.

-- District 7: Incumbent Henry Brill, 5542 Maple Lane, Janesville, and Jack Crook, 6219 Highway 51, Janesville.

-- District 18: Jim Bahler, 404 N. Washington St., Janesville; Josh Mittness-Buol, 2310 Highland Ave., Janesville; Ronald Combs, 106 Glenview Court, Janesville.

-- District 20: Incumbent Jane Thompson, 4270 N. Polaris Parkway, Janesville, and Wesley Davis, 4210 Castlemoor Drive, Janesville.

-- District 21: Terry Thomas, 1425 Clover Lane, Janesville, and Robert G. Keith, 2142 N. Claremont Drive, Janesville.

-- District 23: Incumbent Richard Ott, 4101 Bordeaux, Janesville, and Stephen Flood, 828 Sentinel Drive, Janesville.

-- District 24: Incumbent Richard Bostwick, 61 Harrison St., Janesville, and Russell Allen, 121 S. Main St., Janesville.

-- District 29: Incumbent Fred Yoss, 317 Clark St., Janesville, and Katie Kuznacic, 82 S. Harmony Drive, Janesville.

Last updated: 3:12 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print