Evansville council elects new alderperson

Print Print
Wednesday, August 13, 2008
— Todd A. Culbertson is the newest member of the Evansville City Council.

The council selected Culbertson, 438 Almeron St., at its meeting Tuesday night to fill the remainder of the District 4 term vacated by John Sornson, who resigned effective July 31.

The council interviewed two candidates who submitted applications: Culbertson and Ben Ladick, 337 S. Madison St. Council members Mason Braunschweig, Janis Ringhand, Diane Roberts and Tony Wyse voted for Culbertson while Tom Cothard, Barb Jacobson and Dennis Wessels voted for Ladick.

Culbertson will serve until the April election.

During his interview with the council, Culbertson said he moved to Evansville about 15 years ago after growing up in Monona. He is the owner of Rock íN Rollz Sandwhich Co., which recently moved to the corner of Main and Madison streets downtown.

ďIíve had the opportunity to meet so many people in the last year and a half (since opening his business) and really feel more attached to the community Ö so thatís why Iíd like to have this opportunity,Ē he said.

He said heís been becoming more involved in the community and has taken a greater interest in the future of Evansville. A recent visit before the council for personal matters was his first opportunity to see local government in action, and that piqued his interest, he said.

After the vote Tuesday, Culbertson was sworn in and joined the council for the remainder of the meeting. He also was appointed to take over Sornsonís positions on the water and light utility committee, public works committee and public safety committee and as an alternate to the fire district board.

The council also approved a motion commending Sornson for his service to the city.

Last updated: 10:01 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print