UW-Whitewater women capture WIAC tennis title

Print Print
Gazette staff
Monday, October 22, 2007
— MADISON—UW-Whitewater won the 2007 WIAC women’s tennis championship at Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

The team title was determined by using a combination of the regular season dual meet standings and the conference championship results. The finish in the regular season conference standings accounted for one-third of the criteria, while the WIAC championship accounted for the remaining two-thirds.

The conference title for the Warhawks is the eighth in school history and first since 2004. The Warhawks totaled 21 points in the final championship standings to outdistance second place UW-Eau Claire with 18 points.

UW-Whitewater, UW-Eau Claire, UW-River Falls and UW-La Crosse advance to a team tournament to decide the conference’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA Division III Tournament. The WIAC team tournament will be held at UW-Whitewater the weekend prior to the NCAA championship in the spring.

The Warhawks claimed three singles titles and a pair of doubles crowns during the two-day conference championship. Tiffany Dawson won the No. 5 singles trophy with a 3-6, 6-4, 6-1 decision over UW-Eau Claire’s Erin Welch. Dawson earned the No. 6 singles crown during the 2005 championship.

Lauren Fahl claimed the No. 4 singles title with a 6-3, 6-2 triumph over UW-Eau Claire’s Brenna McCormick, while Jenny Woyahn won the No. 6 singles event with a 6-2, 6-1 victory over the Blugolds’ Liz Deprey.

In doubles competition, Fahl teamed with Jessica Farrar at No. 2 and earned a championship with an 8-3 decision over UW-Eau Claire’s McCormick and Kristie Carlson.

The Warhawks’ Amy Siemon and Brittany Gering won the No. 3 doubles title with a 9-8 (3) triumph against UW-Eau Claire’s Deprey and Erin Welch.

Last updated: 4:45 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print