District announces employees of the year

Print Print
Monday, November 26, 2007
— The School District of Janesville has announced its 2007 teacher and staff of the year awards.

Award winners are listed below, along with information submitted by the district.

-- Co-Special Services Teacher of the Year—Janet Dow

Dow joined the district in 1989, as librarian at Washington Elementary School. She had previously taught fourth, fifth and sixth grades at Harrison Elementary, 1971 to 1974. She later returned to the library at Washington.

Quote about her: “Janet is facilitating the professional growth of our staff by leading us through the change process and opening new avenues to teaching and learning to make certain that our students are ready for the challenges of both school and work in the 21st Century.”—Van Buren Principal Kori Settersten, a former Washington teacher

Quote from her: “I have always considered the library as the heart of a school, and so that vision has in turn caused me to feel the library media specialist can have a powerful role in how a school functions and in how children learn.”

-- Co-Special Service School Teacher of the Year—Renae Ferraro

Ferraro accepted a position as librarian at Franklin Middle School in 1991. She taught second and fourth grades at Jackson Elementary from 1994 to 1999. In the 1999-2000 school year, she became the librarian at Monroe Elementary School. She is now the librarian for both Monroe and Kennedy schools.

Quote about her: “Renae possesses a tremendous talent in the area of encouraging students to enjoy the process of learning. Two of Renae’s most admirable qualities are that of being professional and personable with all of the Monroe School students, staff and families.”—Monroe teacher Michelle Kasmiske

Quote from her: “I believe that the infusion of library media skills into lesson design can help to address the diverse nature of today’s students and the wide range of learning styles found in today’s classroom. I have diligently researched the Internet for appropriate sites that will foster learning in up-to-date, entertaining and engaging ways for our students.”

-- Emergent Teacher of the Year—Sue Prosser

The emergent teacher award goes to a teacher who has been teaching fewer than four years and is doing great things for her students.

Prosser has been employed as a cognitive disabilities teacher at Franklin since 2003.

Quote about her: “As a new teacher to the profession, Mrs. Prosser’s effort and professionalism are most impressive. Her dedication to her students, the staff and school defines ‘selfless.’ Her students, who manifest the most severe disabilities in our school, have provided mine with countless lessons in the value of human dignity, respect and concern.”—former eighth-grade teacher Tom Ulrich, now at Craig High.

-- Elementary School Teacher of the Year—Sherry Hintz

Hintz has been a phy ed teacher in the district since 1993, the last 12 at Washington Elementary. Hintz is involved in numerous committees and activities outside of school, including the district’s phy ed curriculum committee; The Wisconsin Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; Wisconsin Track Coaches Association clinics; Special Olympics State Meet Long Jump Official; and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Quote about her: “Mrs. Hintz has worked tirelessly to obtain specialized equipment to maintain the interest of the students. The students are always excited and eager to go to phy ed.”—fellow teacher Tom Moore.

Quote from her: “I am dedicated to teaching lifetime activities. Being active is not just for your formal school years, it is for the rest of your life. I am committed to helping in the task of reducing childhood obesity by informing my students and teaching them valuable lessons that will help them make healthy choices for their bodies, spirit and mind. I am committed to motivating my students to be active and to have fun while doing it.”

-- High School Teacher of the Year—Diane Runde

Runde began teaching in the district in 1996 as an agri-business instructor at Craig and Parker high schools. Now full-time at Craig, she has added classes in landscape design, small animal care and introduction to veterinary science. She promotes agriculture throughout the community with programs such as the Food for America farm tour program that her students put on each year, and the Great Outdoors summer school class that she teaches.

Quote about her: “Diane has developed an FFA program which is truly run by the members. Students internally motivate themselves with the guidance and support of their FFA Adviser, Diane.”—Adam Wehling, agri-science teacher in Evansville.

Quote from her: “I find out what students like and how they learn best and then center my lessons and teaching methods on ways which are best for the students.”

-- Administrator of the Year—Dale Carlson

Carlson joined the district in 1995 as an assistant principal at Parker High School. He has been the Parker principal since 1999.

Quote about him: “Dr. Carlson is always understanding, has a lot of patience and makes you feel important when you have a problem and is willing to help you fix it.”—custodian Aggie Fenrich.

-- Support Staff Member of the Year—Kari Cinto

Cinto joined the district as the secretary for Parker’s Block Program for at-risk students in 2002. In 2004, she became the secretary to the assistant principals and building athletic director.

Quote about her: “She has a calm demeanor that tends to quiet the bedlam that sometimes surrounds her as an administrative secretary.”—fellow assistant principal’s secretary Judi Kirchner.

The district celebrated the honorees at a ceremony Wednesday. A video of the event will be shown on Janesville cable Channel 13 later this month.

Last updated: 9:51 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print