Milton's Lysak is Mr. Popularity

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, November 23, 2007

Everybody likes Adam Lysak in Southern Lakes boys soccer.

That’s what Milton High first-year coach Ryan Wagner says of the Red Hawks’ star forward, and rivals coaches have validated that thought.

Lysak, a junior, is the coaches’ unanimous choice as Player of the Year after leading Milton to a 7-0 championship season and moving up from last year’s second-team all-conference selections.

“There was no doubt in my mind that he would get that award because he truly deserved it,’’ Wagner said. “And the other coaches in the conference couldn’t agree more.’’

Lysak, who received all-state honorable mention, earned the stamp of approval by collecting 32 goals and 13 assists in Milton’s 15-4-1 season. That included 13 goals in conference games.

“If you ask any coach what they want in a player, Adam has it all,’’ Wagner said. “He has strength, speed, vision, and the list goes on.

“One thing you notice about him right away as a coach, and what made him the conference Player of the Year, is his work ethic. He always gives 100 percent and is just a great role model for the team.

“But to score 32 goals, you need to be above and beyond the rest of the players out there,” Wagner said. “As a forward, Adam does everything right.

“He’s just one of those players who’s a joy to watch because of his talent. I can’t wait until next year to see what he brings.’’

Meanwhile, Southern Lakes coaches saw enough this year to place three Milton players on the all-conference first team. Along with Lysak, the Red Hawks are represented by junior midfielder Cole Ashenbrenner and senior defender Matt Drew.

First-team repeaters are Fort Atkinson senior midfielder Nate Mode, East Troy junior forward Colin Monahan and Jefferson senior forward Erasto Ochoa.

The other first-team selections are defenders Trent Duniven, Delavan-Darien senior; Cameron Stepp, Whitewater junior; and Luis Ochoa, Jefferson sophomore; midfielders Tommy Kuczynski, East Troy junior; Jocsan Duran, Elkhorn sophomore; and goalie Jon Cerny, Delavan-Darien senior.


Evansville has received a dominating postseason reward for its Capitol Conference soccer championship.

The Blue Devils have placed four players on the coaches’ all-conference first team, including senior forward Prentice Eager, senior midfielder Tommy Kremer and senior defender Dwight Redders. They are joined by junior goalkeeper Dominic Amato, who put the solidifying touch on Evansville’s 8-0 sweep through the league.

Cambridge/Deerfield senior forward Clayton Miles is a two-time repeater on the first team and the conference Player of the Year. In fact, he is the only repeater.

Columbus senior forward Peter Zander, Lodi senior midfielder Matt Keener and Poynette/Portage junior midfielder Michael Presser moved up from last year’s second team.


Lake Geneva Badger had the disappointment of falling short of the WIAA Division 1 state tournament, but its Lakeshore championship year is filled with postseason rewards.

The Badgers, who went 18-7-1 and dropped a double-overtime heartbreaker to Kenosha Tremper in the sectional finals, have four players on the coaches’ All-Lakeshore first team. Senior midfielder Garrison Draper leads the way as one of three repeaters from last year.

Badger’s all-conference lineup also includes junior forward Frank Delgado, junior defender Ryan Yunker and senior goalkeeper Jordan Christner.

Wilmot senior forward Vasily Giannakopoulos is the Player of the Year. Waterford senior forward Joe Altal and Kenosha St. Joseph junior forward join Draper as the other first-team repeaters.

All-Southern Lakes


Midfield—Tommy Kuczynski, East Troy, jr.; Cole Aschenbrenner, Milton, jr.; Jocsan Duran, Elkhorn, soph.; Nate Mode, Fort Atkinson, sr.

Forward—Adam Lysak, Milton, jr.; Collin Monahan, East Troy, jr.; Erasto Ochoa, Jefferson, sr.

Defense—Trent Duniven, Delavan-Darien, sr.; Matt Drew, Milton, sr.; Cameron Stepp, Whitewater, jr.; Luis Ochoa, Jefferson, soph.

Goalkeeper—Jon Cerny, Delavan-Darien, sr.


Midfield—Riley Monahan, East Troy, fr.; Tyler Kamenick, Elkhorn, sr.; Nathan Callope, Whitewater, jr.; Rickey Quillman, Delavan-Darien, sr.

Forward—John McCarthy, Big Foot/Williams Bay, sr.; Michael Messier, Whitewater, soph.

Defense—Ryan Smith, Fort Atkinson, jr.; Kurt Billot, Whitewater, jr.; Joe Stopple, Elkhorn, jr.; Austin Grant, Milton, jr.; Kelly Peterson, East Troy, jr.

Goalkeeper—Nick Hallett, Milton, jr.

Player of the Year—Adam Lysak, Milton.


Delavan-Darien—Drew Benzon, jr.; Jake Drefs, jr. East Troy—Ben Massman, jr.; Colin Schmitz, jr. Elkhorn—Juan Duran, sr.; Adam Smith, jr.; Fort Atkinson—Sam Hartwick, soph.; Nick Dresdow, jr.

Jefferson—Carlos Garcia, sr.; Nate Felth, sr. Milton—Dan Haag, sr.; Kris Zainer, jr. Walworth Big Foot/Williams Bay—Jon Brock, sr.; David Shears, soph. Whitewater—Alex Pfeil, soph.


Milton, 7-0; Delavan-Darien, 5-2; Elkhorn, 5-2; East Troy, 4-3; Whitewater, 3-4; Jefferson, 2-5; Fort Atkinson, 1-5-1; Walworth Big Foot/Williams Bay, 0-6-1.



Midfield—Tommy Kremer, Evansville, sr.; Matt Keener, Lodi, sr.; Michael Presser, Poynette/Portage, jr.; Christopher Stiles, Lake Mills, sr.; Garrett Miles, Cambridge/Deerfield, soph.

Forward—Clayton Miles, Cambridge/Deerfield, sr.; Prentice Eager, Evansville, sr.; Ben Kernen, Belleville/New Glarus, sr.; Peter Zander, Columbus, sr.; Ben Ibinger, Lodi, jr.

Defense—Logan Einerson, Lodi, jr.; Cody Anderson, Belleville/New Glarus, sr.; Dwight Redders, Evansville, sr.

Goalkeeper—Dominic Amato, Evansville, jr.


Midfield—Jeff Schultz, Columbus, jr.; Diego Lema, Evansville, jr.; Jeremy Landes, Lodi, soph.; Will Scott, Wisconsin Heights, jr.; Dylan Bigler, Belleville/New Glarus, jr.

Forward—Ben Hamaker, Evansville, sr.; Bryce Ryan, Lodi, jr.; Gerich Simon, Poynette/Portage, jr.

Defense—Evan Halverson, Cambridge/Deerfield, sr.; Colin Nicholson, Evansville, sr.; Ross Chartrand, Luther Prep, jr.; Kyle Harger, Lake Mills, sr.; Dan Fogarty, Columbus, sr.

Goalkeeper—T.J. Francis, Columbus, jr.

Player of the Year—Clayton Miles, Cambridge/Deerfield.


Belleville/New Glarus—Jon Fox, mf, fr.; Trey Hamilton, d, jr. Cambridge/Deerfield—Todd Gleason, mf, sr.; Garrett Thiltgen, d, jr.; Brad Konkel, gk, sr. Columbus—Mike Poser, mf, jr.; Jason Anderson, d, soph. Luther Prep—Justin Pomije, mf, sr.; Steve Gustafson, d, sr. Poynette/Portage—Jacob Hernandez, d, jr.; Kyle McLean, d, jr. Wisconsin Heights—Chris Troge, d, jr.; Josh Cafferty, gk, jr.


Evansville, 8-0; Lodi, 6-1-1; Columbus, 5-2-1; Cambridge/Deerfield, 4-3-1; Lake Mills, 3-5; Poynette/Portage, 3-5; Watertown Luther Prep, 1-6.



Midfield—Garrison Draper, Lake Geneva Badger, sr.; Petro Giannakopoulos, Wilmot, sr.; Mike Lenz, Racine St. Catherine’s, jr.

Forward—Vasily Giannakopoulos, Wilmot, sr.; Frank Delgado, Badger, jr.; Joe Altal, Waterford, sr.; Jeff Collins, Kenosha St. Joseph, jr.

Defense—Ryan Yunker, Badger, jr.; Anthony Glidden, St. Catherine’s, sr.; Jordan Santaga, Waterford, sr.

Goalkeeper—Jordan Christner, Badger, sr.


Midfield—Jeff Stephan, Waterford, sr.; Taylor Mackinnon, Westosha Central, jr.; Ben Roettgen, Union Grove, soph.

Forward—Mike Goldberg, St. Catherine’s, sr.; Kris O’Toole, St. Joseph, jr.; Kevin Del Cid Correa, Westosha, jr.; Mike Flancher, St. Catherine’s, jr.

Defense—Charlie Patera, Westosha, sr.; Kurt Vanderweff, Union Grove, sr.; Austin Lemens, St. Joseph, sr.

Goalkeeper—Kenny Ciecko, Wilmot, jr.

Player of the Year—Vasily Giannakiopoulos, Wilmot.


Badger—Wesley Aranda, mf, sr.; Matric Katula, f, fr. St. Catherine’s—Mark Glidden, mf, soph. St. Joseph—Mike Tate, d, sr. Union Grove—Tom Peterson, f, jr. Waterford—Eric Dinjer, d, jr.; Justin Gawlik, f, sr.; Phil Schuyler, mf, soph. Westosha—Joel Culberston, mf, sr. Wilmot—Justin Dewing, d, jr.; Andy Jaeger, f, jr.

Last updated: 10:02 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print