Warhawks' Polk gets WIAC top honor

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, November 7, 2007
— UW-Whitewater’s Carley Polk has been named Player of the Year to headline the 12 individuals selected by the coaches for the All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference women’s volleyball team.

Stacy Boudreau of the Warhawks has been named Coach of the Year.

Polk, a senior middle hitter, earned first-team status for the second straight year after helping Whitewater to the WIAC regular-season and tournament championships. She ranks second in the conference with a .324 hitting percentage, sixth with 1.02 blocks per game and ninth with 3.34 kills per game.

Polk played in 34 of 35 matches and 102 of 128 games. She reached double digits in kills in 18 matches, including a career-high 24 kills against Lakeland and a season-best nine blocks at UW-Oshkosh.

Polk is the 11th Warhawk in history to suprass 1,000 career kills. She has 1,297 heading into the regional tournament.

Polk is the fourth Warhawk to be named the conference’s Player of the Year, joining Allison Erickson (2001), Angie Wildish (2002) and Abbie Mueller (2005).

Repeat selections on the All-WIAC first team are UW-Eau Claire’s Abby Freiborg, UW-Oshkosh’s Leah Rosenbaum and Kim Vail and UW-Stevens Point’s Shelly Maus.

UW-Whitewater setter Kate Lazotte also has gained first-team honors. Lazotte had 1,241 assists, averaging 11.9 per game.

The rest of the first team includes UW-Eau Claire’s Nikki Peterson, UW-La Crosse’s Katelyn Carlson and Brianne Stankus, UW-Oshkosh’s Samantha Schmidt, UW-Platteville’s Kelly Laschinger, and UW-River Falls’ Kelsey Scheele.

Boudreau is in her third year with the Whitewater program since replacing Kris Russell. She has a career record of 106-15 (.876 winning percentage). Her team won the NCAA Division III national title two years ago, reached the semfinals last year and begins regional play Thursday at St. Thomas University in St. Paul, Minn.


Women’s Volleyball


Katelyn Carlson, La Crosse, sr., outside hitter.

Abby Freiborg, Eau Claire, jr., outside hitter.

Kelly Laschinger, Platteville, sr., setter.

Kate Lazotte, Whitewater, sr., setter.

Shelly Maus, Stevens Point, sr., middle blocker.

Nikki Peterson, Eau Claire, sr., outside hitter.

Carley Polk, Whitewater, sr., middle hitter.

Leah Rosenbaum, Oshkosh, sr., middle blocker.

Kelsey Scheele, River Falls, soph., outside hitter.

Samantha Schmidt, Oshkosh, jr., libero.

Brianne Stankus, La Crosse, soph., outside hitter.

Kim Vail, Oshkosh, sr., outside hitter.


Lisa Bell, Platteville, soph., middle hitter.

Rachel Chapman, Platteville, jr., outside hitter.

Chelsie Christofferson, Superior, soph., outside hitter.

Alicia Fairchild, Superior, sr., setter.

Katie Fox, Eau Claire, jr., middle blocker

Emily Haese, Eau Claire, jr., setter.

Maggie Meixl, Stout, jr., middle hitter

Rebekah Nelson, Whitewater, sr., outside hitter.

Amber Schoonover, La Crosse, jr., outside hitter.

Abby Schultz, Whitewater, sr., outside hitter.

Courtney Stach, Superior, sr., outside hitter.


Kristina Conlin, Whitewater, Sophomore, Libero

Heather Harnell, Eau Claire, Senior, Libero

Casey Huntoon, Stout, Senior, Libero

Samantha Schmidt, Oshkosh, Junior, Libero


Nina Cooper, River Falls, jr., outside hitter.

Stephanie Gardon, Whitewater, jr., outside hitter.

Heather Harnell, Eau Claire, sr., libero.

Anne LeBard, Superior, sr., outside hitter.

Rebecca Masephol, Oshkosh, sr., outside hitter.

Maggie Meixl, Stout, jr., middle hitter.

Kaci O’Connell, La Crosse, sr., middle hitter.

Lynn Schreiner, Platteville, sr., outside hitter.

Jill Wittmann, Stevens Point, sr., outside hitter/setter.

Player of the Year—Carley Polk, Whitewater.

Judy Kruckman Co-Scholar-Athletes—Shelly Maus, Stevens Point; Rebekah Nelson, Whitewater.

Coach of the Year—Stacy Boudreau, Whitewater.

Last updated: 9:30 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print