Warhawks smash into finals

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Saturday, November 3, 2007
— UW-Whitewater will face UW-Platteville for the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference volleyball championship and an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III tournament at 2:30 this afternoon in Williams Center.

The Warhawks (30-4) swept UW-La Crosse, 30-20, 30-18, 31-29 in a semifinal Friday. Seventh-seeded Platteville (24-11) upset third-seeded Eau Claire 32-30, 30-28, 27-30, 30-24 in the other semifinal. The Pioneers defeated second-seeded UW-Oshkosh in the first round on Tuesday.

Abby Schultz led the Warhawks with a game-high 17 kills and 22 digs. Carley Polk added 10 kills, while teammate Kate Lazotte had 44 assists. Rebekah Nelson, a Williams Bay graduate, had four kills and 13 digs for Whitewater.

Whitewater’s .385 hitting percentage tied the season high.

The WIAC champ advances to a regional hosted at Carthage College at Kenosha starting Thursday.


UW-LaCrosse 20 18 29

UW-Whitewater 30 30 31

Leaders: Aces—Kristina Conlin (WW) 2. Kills—Amber Schoonover (LC) 10, Abby Schultz (WW) 17. Assists—Samantha Dries (LC) 24, Kate Lazotte (WW) 45.

Warhawk soccer team falls

UW-Stevens Point kept UW-Whitewater under control to post a 3-2 victory Friday in the semifinals of the WIAC women’s soccer tournament at Eau Claire.

The second-seeded Pointers (15-3-1) face top-seeded UW-Eau Claire (18-2-1), a 5-1 winner over UW-La Crosse, in today’s 1 p.m. title game.

Whitewater (12-8-1) cut Stevens Point’s lead to 2-1 near the 42-minute mark when a corner kick deflected off a Pointer and the Warhawks’ Jennan Samp scored on a header for her second goal of the season.

Stevens Point took a 3-1 lead at 62 minutes. Whitewater’s Holly U’ren scored an unassisted goal at 89 minutes for the final score.


UW-Whitewater 1 1—2

UW-Stevens Point 2 1—3


SP—Amanda Prawat (Unassisted), :41. SP—Prawat (Kaylee Weise), 32:41. W—Jenna Samp (Unassisted), 41:58.


SP—Kaylee Weise (unassisted), 62:08. W—Holly U’ren (unassisted), 89:00.

Saves—Amy Bailey (W) 4, Meridith DeCaluwe (SP) 4.

Last updated: 9:46 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print