Parker's Holden, Lloyd earn Mid-States titles

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Saturday, December 29, 2007
— Ryan Holden and Harold Lloyd, a 1-2 punch at opposite ends of Janesville Parker High School’s wrestling lineup, joined the elite here Saturday.

Holden, who prevailed at 112 pounds, and Lloyd, the 285-pound champion, were among the few not from Wausau West to win titles in the prestigious Mid-States Classic at UW-Whitewater.

Wausau West had seven individual champions in easily winning the team title with 312 points. Wrightstown was second in the 40-school tournament with 173.5, and Parker was fifth with 145.5.

Holden pushed his season record 13-0 by pinning Wausau West’s Joey Marsh in 4:40 in their title match. The Parker standout also had 2:51 pin over West Bend East’s Trevor Pruitt in the semifinals.

Lloyd went to 12-0 for the season by pinning Iowa-Grant’s Shane McGuire in the 3:19 in the finals. Lloyd’s semifinal victory was a 5:14 pin of Wisconsin Dells’ Kit Conrad.

Parker’s Brennan Casey-Schmidt (12-2) defeated Poynette’s Jedd Wilson, 8-2, for third place at 103 pounds. Darlington’s Devin Malott, the eventual runner-up, had pinned Casey-Schmidt in 5:11 in the semifinals.

Wausau West’s Jackson Hein, an eventual champion, gained a 15-4 major decision over Parker’s Enio Perez in the 171-pound semifinals. Delavan-Darien’s Robert Mulligan, who finished fourth, then defeated Perez on an injury default in the consolation round.

Beloit Memorial’s Alex Polizzi joined Holden and Lloyd in breaking through Wausau West’s stranglehold on individual honors. Polizzi (16-0) won the 215-pound championship with a 9-8 decision over Wrightstown’s Travis Skinkis.

Mid-States Classic

At UW-Whitewater


Wausau West 312, Wrightstown 173.5, Iowa-Grant 165, Muskego 165, Janesville Parker 145.5, Pewaukee 117, Evanston (Ill.) 105.5, Elkhorn 100.5, Reedsburg 99, Veronon Hills (Ill.) 96.

West Bend East 91.5, Oregon (Wis.) 90, Ozaukee 86.5, Delavan-Darien 85, Oregon (Ill.) 80, Beloit Memorial 76.5, Beloit Turner 73.5, Brookwood 69, Poynette 68.5, Waukesha West 68.

Waukesha North 63.5, Cedarburg 62, Fort Atkinson 53, Darlington 49, Burlington 44.5, Cedar Grove-Belgium 43.5, Whitewater 41, Milwaukee Marquette 34, Pecatonica/Argyle 33, River Ridge/Cassville 33.

Wisconsin Dells 31, Edgerton 30.5, South Wayne Black Hawk 27, Walworth Big Foot 25, Lake Geneva Badger 22, Glendale Nicolet 20, Horicon 15, Belvidere (Ill.) 14, Niles North (Ill.) 14, Burlington Central 1.


103—Title: Jon Schuster (Wausau West) dec. Devin Malott (Darlington), 7-0. Third: Brennan Casey-Schmidt (Janesville Parker) dec. Jedd Wilson (Poynette), 8-2.

112—Title: Ryan Holden (Janesville Parker) pinned Joey Marsh (Wausau West), 4:40. Third: Trevor Pruitt (West Bend East) pinned Nick Capozzoli (Vernon Hills), 2:20.

119—Title: Jason Kyle (Wausau West) dec. Zach Mueller (West Bend Easdt), 7-3. Third: Jim Phistry (Waukesha West) won by injury default over Ty Thronson (Edgerton).

125—Title: Sam Umlauf (Wausau West) dec. Scott Lau (Muskego), 3-0. Third: Stephen Schnurer (Wrightstown) dec. Isaiah Goebel (Darlington), 3-1.

130—Title: Tyler Furger (Wausau West) maj. dec. over Tanner Pruett (West Bend East), 15-2. Third: Nick Nienas (Elkhorn) pinned Kyle Householder (Cedarburg), 4:01.

135—Title: Steve Monk (Wausau West) dec. Derek Olson (Muskego), 6-3. Third: Justin Washburn (Iowa-Grant) maj. dec. over Chris Dittner (Delavan-Darien), 11-0.

140—Title: Shawn Perry (Wausau West) dec. Brandon Garcia (Cedar Grove-Belgium), 13-10. Third: Jeremiah Potter (Elkhorn) maj. dec. over Luke Ballentine (Oregon), 14-1.

145—Title: Jerick Kuester (Waukesha North) dec. Shawn Flom (Ozaukee), 3-0. Third: David Phillips (Pewaukee) dec. Ethan James (Evanston), 7-3.

152—Title: John Hrabik (Pewaukee) dec. Jake Schiling (Muskego), 5-3. Third: Keegan Kite (Iowa-Grant) maj. dec. over Colby Kenney (Oregon, Ill.), 16-2.

160—Title: Ryan Renon (Wrightstown) dec. Brett Rice (Poynette), 7-5. Third: Joshua Hein (Wausau West) dec. Lucas Clark (Beloit Turner), 3-0.

171—Title: Jackson Hein (Wausau West) dec. Mike Huber (Reedsburg), 5-4 (2 OT). Third: Justin Johanning (Iowa-Grant) dec. Robert Mulligan (Delavan-Darien), 11-5.

189—Title: Jim Luft (Ozaukee) dec. Marx Succes (Evanston), 14-8. Third: Kyle Castellion (Muskego) dec. Ryan Roebke (Wrightstown), 3-2.

215—Title: Alex Polizzi (Beloit Memorial) dec. Travis Skinkis (Wrightstown), 9-8. Third: Jacob Keeser (Fort Atkinson) dec. Tyler Utecht (Wausau West), 3-0.

275—Title: Harold Llold (Janesville Parker) pinned Shane McGuire (Iowa-Grant), 3:19. Third: Zach Morrison (Wrightstown) pinned Steve Hwang (Vernon Hills), 2:58.

Badger State Invitational

At UW Field House


Stoughton 192.5, DeForest 182.5, Woodstock (Ill.) Marian Central 178.5, Sheboygan Falls 160, Sauk Prairie 140.5, Milton 134, Belleville 118, Sheboygan South 117.5, Campbellsport 103.5, Evansville/Albany 87,

Waukesha South 82, Cambridge 69, Clinton 68.5, Antigo 35, Brodhead/Juda 34, Madison East 17.


103—Title: Damonte Riley (Marian) maj. dec. over Daniel Barth (Clinton), 13-1. Third: Jack Willford (Stoughton) dec. Cole Engeldinger (DeForest), 4-2 (OT).

112—Title: Tanner Klitzke (Stoughton) dec. Steven Murphy (Marian), 2-1. Third: Nathan Brown (Sheboygan Falls) dec. Spencer Kroening (Sheboygan South), 5-4.

119—Title: Matthew O’Boyle (Marian) dec. Brad Hesebeck (Clinton), 8-1. Third: Joe Kessem (DeForest) pinned Jordan Williams (Sheboygan Falls), 2:00.

125—Title: Brendan Murphy (Marian) dec. Darren Langer (DeForest), 12-5. Third: Austin Wersal (DeForest) dec. Tommy Beck (Campbellsport), 4-0.

130—Title: Tyler Rauls (DeForest) dec. Jon Biermeier (Cambridge), 9-3. Third; Josh Hammen (Sheboygan Falls) dec. Jackson Urso (Stoughton), 5-4.

135—Title: Matt Gaffney (Sauk Prairie) dec. Nick Jens (Sheboygan Falls), 10-6. Third: Tyler Lincoln (Brodhead/Juda) dec. Dan Schiferl (Stoughton), 4-2.

140—Title: Brad Larson (Stoughton) dec. Shane Kroening (Sheboygan Falls), 5-2. Third: Shaun O’Neill (Milton) dec. Ben Chappa (Sheboygan Falls), 7-5.

145—Title: Cole Schmitt (Belleville) dec. Elias Larson (Marian), 7-4. Third: Tyce Shirley (DeForest) dec. Jake Gohlke (Stoughton), 5-0.

152—Title: Kalvin York (Belleville) pinned Grant Lorang (Cambridge), 1:44. Third: Shawn Jesen (Milton) dec. Ryan McCarville (Brodhead/Juda), 6-2.

160—Title: Brett Ballweg (Sauk Prairie) dec. James Miller (Milton), 5-0. Third: Nick Patchen (Evansville/Albany) dec. Max Fischer (Sheboygan Falls), 5-0.

171—Title: J.C. Francois (Belleville) pinned James Wixom (Sauk Prairie), :54. Third: Ryan Dougherty (Stoughton) tech. fall over Jared Lindsley (Campbellsport), 26-8.

189—Title: Nate Rogers (Milton) maj. dec. over Eric Nelson (Stoughton), 11-3. Third: Zach Wetzel (Cambridge) dec. Joey Baird (Waukesha South), 6-4.

215—Title: Billy Mayer (Campbellsport) dec. Drew Barman (DeForest), 10-5. Third: Cory Wunsch (Sheboygan South) dec. Donovan Gregoire (Sheboygan Falls), 2-1.

285—Title: Zach Kattner (Sheboygan Falls) dec. Richard Skaife (DeForest), 6-4. Third: Nick Gibson (Milton) dec. Nick Watson (Belleville), 3-2.

Last updated: 10:03 am Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print