Warhawks win WIAC baseball tournament

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Saturday, May 10, 2014

The UW-Whitewater baseball team fought all the way back to a Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference tournament championship Saturday.

A loss on Friday put the Warhawks in a position where they needed to win three times in one day to win the tournament and earn an automatic bid into the NCAA Division III tournament.

They did just that, topping UW-Stevens Point, 8-1, in an elimination game and then beating UW-La Crosse twice—6-4 in 10 innings and then 17-5 in seven innings—to win it all.

The NCAA regionals begin next weekend.

In the first game against La Crosse, left fielder Trey Cannon provided the game-winning hit in the 10th. His bases-loaded single plated Delavan-Darien alum Michael Gonzalez and shortstop Mikole Pierce.

In the title-game rematch, the Warhawks broke the game open with five runs in the third and then put it away with 11 runs in the bottom of the sixth. Gonzalez went 3-for-4 with three runs scored, catcher Casey Power was 4-for-4 with six RBI, and Edgerton native Adam Gregory had a double and two runs.

The Warhawks are now 36-7 and will play in the NCAA tournament for the seventh straight season. They will host a regional that will likely begin Wednesday. The complete assignments and schedule are expected to be released late Sunday night.


UW-Stevens Point     010     000     000—1     8     2

UW-Whitewater        003     003     11x—8     8     0

Flood, Feyereisen (4), Prebelski (8) and Steldt, Gerber, Spurney; Plaza, Grove (9) and Power.

Leading hitters—Carlson (SP 2x4; Gerber (SP) 2x2; Fon (W) 4x4. 2B—Coady (SP), Fon (W) 2, Power (W). 3B—Carlson (SP). HR—Pierce (W).

SO—Flood 2, Feyereisen 3, Plaza 5. BB—Flood 4, Feyereisen 2, Plaza 1.


UW-Whitewater     000     101     120     2—6     12     1

UW-La Crosse       030     000     010     0—4       9      0

Morgan, Grove (8) and Power; Miller, Sadowske (6), Lavery (10) and Barnes.

Leading hitters—Friend (W) 3x5; Gonzalez (W) 4x4; Cannon (W) 3x5; Cefalu (L) 3x3; Rowles (L) 2x4. 2B—Friend (W), Gonzalez (W), Cordova (L), Rowles (L). 3B—Pierce (W).

SO—Morgan 3, Grove 4, Miller 1, Sadowske 1, Lavery 2.


UW-La Crosse        001     004         0—5        9      2

UW-Whitewater     105     00(11)     x—17     17     0

Kenkel, Kruckow (3), Stern (3), Cejka (6), Neale (6), Miller (6), Sadowske (6) and Barnes; Jones, Mortensen (6), Nompleggi (7) and Power.

Leading hitters—Barsness (L) 2x3; Barnes (L) 2x3; Fon (W) 3x4; Pierce (W) 2x3; Gonzalez (W) 3x4; Power (W) 4x4. 2B—Fon (W), Friend (W), Pierce (W), Cannon (W), Gregory (W), Bersch (W). 3B—Cefalu (L), Barnes (L), Gonzalez (W), Power (W). HR—Power (W).

SO—Stern 2, Jones 4, Nompleggi 1. BB—Stern 1.

 Whitewater wins WIAC tournament title, earns automatic berth to NCAA tournament.

Comments Comments Print Print