Getting organized: Board regroups with three new members

Comments Comments Print Print
Dave Bretl | April 14, 2014

The county board's 2014-'16 term is about to begin. Three new supervisors will be part of the 11-member board when it convenes April 15. Paul Yvarra will replace Jerry Grant, who announced his retirement after 16 years of service. Kathy Ingersoll, who has served on the county board before, will take over the Elkhorn seat left vacant by the death of Tim Schiefelbein late last year. Finally, Charlene Fell Staples was successful in her election and will represent District 5.

While the board typically meets on the second Tuesday of each month, in this instance, state law trumps our local rule. Statutes require that county boards throughout the state conduct an organizational meeting on the third Tuesday after each regular election at which supervisors are elected. County board supervisors in Wisconsin, with the exception of Milwaukee County, serve two-year terms. Therefore, the organizational process takes place every other year following the spring election.

The first order of business at the meeting is to swear in new supervisors and elect a county board chairperson from among the 11-member board. The chair presides over board meetings, approves the board's agenda and signs all official actions on behalf of the county. He or she carries out the duties of county administrator in the event that office becomes vacant. Ordinances allow the chairperson to appoint ad hoc committees to study specific topics. The chairperson nominates replacements to serve on the county board in the event a supervisory vacancy occurs due to the resignation or death of a member between elections. In addition to these duties, the chairperson serves on six of the board's standing committees as well as a number of other committees and boards. The chair will earn $1,200 per month during the next term. Compensation for all other supervisors has been established this term at $600 per month.

Until 1998, an unwritten rule held that the chair would pass to the member with the longest tenure, who had not yet served as chair. Today, any member is free to run for chair; however, supervisors nominated to the post typically have previous experience on the board.

In the event the chairperson is unable to perform his or her duties, a vice chairperson, also elected by the full board, would assume the duties of the office. In many Wisconsin counties, a second vice chairperson is elected. In Walworth County, the chairperson of the executive committee, also elected by the full board, would succeed the vice chairperson in the event he or she was unable to serve. This rule first went into effect in 2004, prompted, in part, to ensure that county government would continue to operate in the event of a major terrorist act or natural disaster.

The election process begins with nominations for the position of chairperson. Those competing for the job are given an opportunity to address their peers in a short speech, in which candidates typically outline their vision for the county and plan for leading the board. State law, which normally requires all voting to be public, provides an exception in the case of the election of county leadership positions. Secret ballots are allowed. A majority vote of the supervisors at the meeting is required in order to be elected. Assuming all 11 supervisors are in attendance, six votes are required. If no winner emerges after the first ballot, a second round of balloting is conducted. In past years, the supervisor garnering the fewest votes has typically withdrawn from the contest, although nothing requires that they do so. Supervisors continue to cast ballots until a winner emerges. Following election, the new chairperson takes his or her seat in front of the board and presides over the balance of the meeting. The elections of vice chair and chair of the executive committee are conducted in the same manner.

Following the board meeting, a nominating committee, consisting of the county board chair, vice chair and executive committee chairperson, makes recommendations for assigning supervisors to the board's 10 standing committees. The nominating committee's work is subject to approval by the full board, and while supervisors are free to deviate from the committee's suggestions, its recommendations are generally approved. Reasons for the board's approval are both professional and practical. Supervisors pay deference to the work of their colleagues, which can be time consuming. At a more practical level, tweaking the committee's recommendations on the board floor can be tricky. County ordinances provide that each supervisor is required to serve on a specific number of committees. Moving a member from one committee to another can have a cascading effect, necessitating a number of other moves.

The whole organizational process takes place in one week and culminates with the board's first business meeting, which will be held on Thursday, April 17. The newly constituted committees will meet later in the month. Each will elect its own chair and vice chair and then resume the county's business for the next term, which will end in April 2016.
Dave Bretl is the Walworth County administrator. Contact him at (262) 741-4357 or visit

Comments Comments Print Print