2014 Herb Kohl Foundation awards to be given Saturday in Janesville

Comments Comments Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, April 3, 2014

JANESVILLE — Local students and educators will be honored for their achievements Saturday during the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation luncheon at Parker High School.

The Herb Kohl Foundation will issue the $1,000 Excellence and Initiative Scholarship grants to the post-secondary institution that each student will attend, according to a news release. Each teacher will receive a $1,000 fellowship, and an additional $1,000 grant will be awarded to the teacher's school for use in innovative educational projects, according to the release.

The program was established by Kohl in 1990 to provide scholarships to graduating Wisconsin high school students who have demonstrated academic excellence, outstanding leadership, citizenship, community service, integrity and other special talents, according to the release.

The awards recognize teachers who have demonstrated superior ability to inspire love of learning in their students, have motivated others and have provided meritorious service both inside and outside the classroom, according to the release.

Area winners are:


-- Dylan Johnson, Brodhead, Brodhead Senior High School.
-- Andrew Klinger, Janesville, Milton High School.
-- Alexandra Lewis, Delavan, Delavan-Darien High School.


-- Destine Fuchs, Whitewater, Whitewater High School.
-- Alida Knudtson, Elkhorn, Faith Christian School, Williams Bay.
-- Alyssa Spaanem, Fort Atkinson, Fort Atkinson High School.
-- Tyson Young, Brodhead, Brodhead High School.


-- Diana Callope, Whitewater, Whitewater Middle School.
-- Cynthia Carter, Milton, Stoughton High School.
-- Kathleen Cornelison, Elkhorn, Jefferson Middle School, Jefferson.
-- Elizabeth Evans, Janesville, Delavan-Darien High School.
-- Pamela Gustin, Fort Atkinson, Purdy Elementary School, Fort Atkinson
-- Beth Hennes, Fitchburg, Fort Atkinson High School.
-- Michele Simonson, Fort Atkinson, St. Joseph Catholic School, Fort Atkinson.
-- Stephanie Steinke, Whitewater, Elkhorn Area High School.
-- Justin Stewart, Fort Atkinson, Lincoln Inquiry Charter School, Whitewater.
-- Angela Szabo, Fort Atkinson, Fort Atkinson High School.
-- Valerie Troxel, Janesville, Washington Elementary School, Whitewater.

Comments Comments Print Print