Truck on Ice winners announced

Comments Comments Print Print
Thursday, April 3, 2014

JANESVILLE—Two people guessed within a minute of the actual time the Truck on Ice would sink at the Traxler Park Lagoon, creating a tie for the first time since the Janesville Blackhawk Golden K Club started the fundraiser 11 years ago.

One ticket holder guessed a sink time of 1:40 p.m. March 18, while another ticket holder guessed a sink time of 1:42 p.m. on the same date. The official sink time was 1:41 p.m.

The raffle rules state there can be only one grand prize winner. The two tickets were shuffled, placed on a table and Golden Kiwanian Jim Hansen selected the $3,000 grand prize ticket, which had been bought by Glenn Disrude, Milton.

The other ticket had been bought by Bernard Thompson, Janesville. He will receive a second-place prize.

The remaining 13 prizes—three second-place and 10 third-place winners--were determined by times closest to the sink time. The grand prize is $3,000, second place $250 and third place $100.

Other winners are Rodney Courtier, Evansville, third; Dennis Timm, Monroe, fourth; Anthony Pierson, Janesville, fifth; Fritz Zimmerman, Milwaukee, sixth; Michael Piette and Robert Crandall, Janesville, seventh; Willard Quade, Milton, eighth; Matt Sullivan, Grafton, ninth; Bob Raymond, Janesville, 10th; Ruth Hintze, Janesville, 11th; Bryan Hanthorn, Janesville, 12th; Karilyn Hanson, Janesville, 13th; Michela Kealey, Milwaukee, 14th; Bill Radovich, Monroe Center, Ill., 15th.

Money raised will help support homeless Janesville students; college scholarships for Craig and Parker high schools, Blackhawk Technical College and UW-Rock County students; the Boys & Girls Club of Janesville; Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts.

More than $100,000 has been raised to help Janesville youth in the past 10 years.

Comments Comments Print Print