Brodhead clerk hopes to prevent voter frustration over council change

Comments Comments Print Print
Gina Duwe
Monday, March 24, 2014

BRODHEAD--The Brodhead city clerk/treasurer is hoping to prevent frustration at the polls next week by helping residents better understand the city's switch to an at-large city council.

The city council in December unanimously approved amending city ordinances to switch from six council members elected from wards to six elected at large representing the entire city.

Residents are confused over the timing, said Roseann Meixelsperger, city clerk/treasurer.

The change doesn't go into effect until after the April 1 election, so the current system still applies to the ballots voters will see Tuesday. Residents can vote only for the ward in which they live.

“People don't understand. They think they're going to come in here and be able to basically vote on whomever they want to for whatever ward it is, and they're not going to be able to do that,” she said.

“What I'm trying to do is prevent them from walking in here on Election Day and getting frustrated because they want to vote for aldermen in Ward 4, and they're in Ward 6,” she said. “That's what I'm afraid we're going to run into.”

People elected April 1 will become council members at large, while the residents holding the seats in Wards 1, 2 and 3 will remain aldermen until after the spring election next year. 

The mayor and three council seats are up for election. No one has filed to run in Wards 4 and 5, and incumbent Troy Nyman is seeking re-election in Ward 6.

Mayor Doug Pinnow is seeking re-election. Mark Coplien's name will appear on the ballot as a challenger to Pinnow, but Coplien has since resigned from the race and from his council seat. 

The city is seeking residents who live in Wards 4 or 5 to run as write-in candidates for two-year terms, Meixelsperger said. For more information, contact Meixelsperger at 608-897-4018 ext. 150.

The city council has two meetings per month, and each member sits on four committees. Council members are paid $2,000 per year.

Last updated: 3:32 pm Monday, March 24, 2014

Comments Comments Print Print